Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PCB substrate properties

Status
Not open for further replies.

yefj

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Sep 12, 2019
Messages
648
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
18
Activity points
3,532

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
22,994
Helped
4,714
Reputation
9,444
Reaction score
5,079
Trophy points
1,393
Activity points
152,351
Hi,

it says it is FR4 with 1.6mm thickness. Now you should be able to find "standard values".

For more precise values I recommend to buy at a reliable distributor. They should be able to provide more precise values.

Klaus
 

yefj

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Sep 12, 2019
Messages
648
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
18
Activity points
3,532
Hello Klauss, could you please recommend one PCB FR4 company i could start with?
I dont know anything about good precise value distributors.
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
50,774
Helped
14,599
Reputation
29,472
Reaction score
13,675
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
290,790
What kind of transmission line do you design on a single sided PCB? The only option is coplanar, don't think that it's what you want.

You do't however need "lots of parameters" for a basic imepdance caluclation, just substrate thickness and permittivity. Industry standard FR4 has a rather wide Er spec, about 4.2 to 4.6.
 

volker@muehlhaus

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Apr 11, 2014
Messages
2,854
Helped
1,034
Reputation
2,074
Reaction score
1,059
Trophy points
1,393
Activity points
18,390
The website says this is single sided copper. For RF PCB, we usually want to have solid copper on one side (ground) and do the routing on the other side.
 
  • Like
Reactions: yefj

    yefj

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

yefj

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Sep 12, 2019
Messages
648
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
18
Activity points
3,532
Hello Volker, i have found this substrate.
The problem is with the SMA connector,its suppose to fit the width of the substrate(three legs)
Where can i find SMA connector with 1.5mm distance between the legs?
also could you recommend me a substrate with more accurate parameters?
Thanks

 
Last edited:

BigBoss

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Nov 17, 2001
Messages
5,473
Helped
1,564
Reputation
3,130
Reaction score
1,463
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Turkiye
Activity points
32,991
If you want to design a precise circuit, you should use branded PCB substrate such as Rogers or Taconic etc.Otherwise substrate parameters may have discrepancy lot by lot..
 
  • Like
Reactions: yefj

    yefj

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

vfone

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Oct 10, 2001
Messages
5,521
Helped
1,597
Reputation
3,199
Reaction score
1,199
Trophy points
1,393
Activity points
35,074
On cheap substrates the relative permittivity Er could change even on the same board if you move a bit around.

1.6mm PCB SMA connectors:
**broken link removed**
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top