Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Path Startpoint is clock pin? Why/

Status
Not open for further replies.

huckle189

Newbie level 5
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
8
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,339
I am newbie to digital design.
I am working on a ASIC design and I am analyzing some top critical paths and I am used to seeing IO pin to Reg paths or Reg to Reg or Reg to IO paths.
This design has a path that says Startpoint is Clock pin and goes to a D pin of a register.
If I look at the path details, I find Hold buffers inserted.
Why would a path have clock pin as startpoint? Any reason for such path to be in topmost critical paths? Is it false? seems the capture flop is clocked by same clock. I am confused. Sorry...

-huckle189
 

rca

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
1,485
Helped
354
Reputation
708
Reaction score
326
Trophy points
1,363
Location
Marin
Activity points
8,522
you need to understand why the data path is driven by the clock.
 

jeevan.life

Full Member level 4
Joined
Jun 26, 2010
Messages
237
Helped
83
Reputation
164
Reaction score
76
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Bangalore
Activity points
2,418
COZ the cell delay of flop also needs to be accounted for as the data has to pass from D pin..and this transition is linked with the CLK to D arc.
 

huckle189

Newbie level 5
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
8
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,339
I am not sure I understand. Why does clock coming into the block, come as data (because it goes to D pin and CLK pin of same flop)? Any examples of when it would be needed?
 

lostinxlation

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Aug 19, 2010
Messages
701
Helped
197
Reputation
394
Reaction score
184
Trophy points
1,323
Location
San Jose area
Activity points
5,051
There are two possibilities. Either the logic was made in a way that a clock is captured by a flop, or you interpret the timing report wrong.

Post the timing report.
 

dftrtl

Banned
Joined
Feb 1, 2011
Messages
349
Helped
76
Reputation
152
Reaction score
73
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Bangalore
Activity points
0
Please go through how timing path is reported.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top