Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

*** OrCad or MultiSim? ***

what would u choose? Orcad or Multisim?

  • OrCad

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • NI Multisim

    Votes: 0 0.0%

  • Total voters
    0
Status
Not open for further replies.

BlackOps

Full Member level 5
Joined
Jan 1, 2005
Messages
280
Helped
14
Reputation
28
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Location
AZERBAIJAN
Activity points
2,496
orcad vs multisim

Hello i have Orcad 10.5, and NI Multisim 10.

i dont have much space on HDD, so, which one do u advice me to install?
which one is better?
which one has more functions?

also i have book on engineering circuit analysis, and examples there are in OrCad, i think it is not a problem to recreate same simulations in Multisim?
 

vandelay

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
119
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Norway
Activity points
2,351
multisim vs orcad

We'll, I'll start the show and trigger people off by claiming that OrCAD 10.5 has WAY more features than Multisim. I have used both in my studies, and there is no doubt in my mind. The most ingenious part of OrCAD is, as I see it, the SLPS package, which lets me place OrCAD circuits into MATLAB Simulink simulations (oohyeah, my favourite sim software). Thus, I can model differential equations of motors and systems, etc, and insert analog PSPICE circuits for the analog parts of the control system (amplifiers and such).. Can you do THAT with Multisim?
 

amiralib

Member level 4
Joined
Mar 6, 2006
Messages
77
Helped
17
Reputation
34
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Ian - Tabriz
Activity points
1,678
orcad multisim

I love multisim ....
it has alot of really instruments ! you can feel the electronic !
its verry easy to use but Orcads simulations results are verry scholastic .
 

electromaniac

Newbie level 6
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
14
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,375
multisim orcad

Multisim is more easy to learn and use

off Cource OrCad is more professional but it is not very easy to use
 

pinoy

Member level 1
Joined
May 25, 2007
Messages
40
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,508
orcad or multisim

I like to use multisim due to the following:

1) Faster design due to its ease of use and wire faster and easier. To wire parts together, just simply click on a source and destination pin and the program will find a path to place the wire.
2) Spectrum and network analyzer
3) Network analyzer to calculate network impedances and match networks
4) Spectrum Analyzer
5) Pole Zero Analysis
6) Model makers make easy to generate SPICE models from databook values
7) Virtual Animated intruments.... Feel like your in a real testing.
 

madeza

Member level 4
Joined
Mar 10, 2006
Messages
74
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Arequipa / PERU
Activity points
1,759
multisim vs

Actually I use Orcad/Pspice and is a very useful tool, in the field of electronic simulations...
 

StoN

Newbie level 2
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
2
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,289
orcad to multisim

vandelay,

The answer to your question is yes. Both the Multisim simulation and the Simulink model can run under Labview. There is also a system simulation tool in Labview and the ability to run M files. So you can do what you stated.
 

moisiad

Member level 4
Joined
Mar 31, 2004
Messages
71
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
GREECE
Activity points
719
multisim models

I believe that one of the the most critical questions, is how accurate is multisim compared to OrCAD in terms of simulation. For example i have created a simple bipolar amplifier and set the power supply to a very high value (40.000V). Even in this exotic case, multisim simulates the circuit - with no error message - and produces an output voltage. In a similar case, Orcad and ICAP4 fail to simulate the circuit. After that, i wonder how can a professional designer can trust the specific software, which i admit that it is very elegant and easy to operate.

I would appreciate if you have any similar cases or any other results to report that may highlight the simulation accuracy of the above mentioned tools.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top