Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Orcad 16.3 to Orcad 9.2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nandulal

Member level 5
Joined
Feb 23, 2006
Messages
91
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,850
Dear All,

Initially I'm using Orcad 9.2 for schematics then we moved to Orcad 16.3. But we have some issues with Orcad 16.3.

Now we want to convert schematics drawn in ver 16.3 to ver 9.2. is there any way to do it?

Plz help.

Regards
-- NKG
 

praveenlb

Full Member level 3
Joined
Sep 19, 2010
Messages
183
Helped
35
Reputation
70
Reaction score
32
Trophy points
1,318
Location
Bangalore
Activity points
2,123
you cant do that lower version to higher is possible but higher version lower is not possible..even in pcb editor..
 

    V

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

dhanushmadhava

Newbie level 2
Joined
Feb 7, 2012
Messages
2
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,283
Location
BANGALORE
Activity points
1,292
Dear Nandulal & Praveen,
I have found a solution for conversion of schematics from ORCAD 16.3 TO 9.2 VERSION.

First in ORCAD 16.3, go to 'FILE', then "EXPORT DESIGN". Convert the schematics to .edf format in orcad 16.3

Later take the converted .edf file to orcad 9.2 and
go to 'FILE' then "IMPORT DESIGN". In "OPEN" , Select the converted .edf file of 16.3 version and In "Save As"give the name for .dsn file name
(preferably same file name). Give "OK".

You will get a error message, ignore it. You will get the converted file of version 9.2.
Regards,
MADHAVA.M
 

keith1200rs

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2009
Messages
10,877
Helped
2,064
Reputation
4,128
Reaction score
1,597
Trophy points
1,403
Location
Yorkshire, UK
Activity points
57,269
It is simpler than that. Simply save your 16.3 schematics in 16.2 format using 'SaveAs. Version 9.2 will then be able to read it.

Keith
 

Trandungee

Newbie level 1
Joined
Apr 20, 2012
Messages
1
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,285
Help : Orcad 16.5 capture to Orcad 16.2 layout

Hello everybody.
Can you help me ?
I'm using Orcad 16.5 Capture and Orcad 16.2 layout. But I don't understand. Why I can't create Pin on Orcad 16.2 layout when I create file netlist MNL on Orcad 16.5.
I sent a wrong file under :

Please,Help me.
 

JimSok

Newbie level 1
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
1
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
North America
Activity points
1,284
MADHAVA.M,
Do you know if this method can also convert 16.3 to 7.2?
Thanks, Jim
 

phmtuan

Newbie level 1
Joined
Jan 6, 2013
Messages
1
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,285
Re: Help : Orcad 16.5 capture to Orcad 16.2 layout

Dear Trandungee,

Have you find the reason for your problem with Capture 16.5 and Layout 16.2 or not? I had the same problem as you had. Please show me detail if you find the result?

Thank you,
Tuân
Email: tuan.phmt@gmail.com

- - - Updated - - -
 

praveenlb

Full Member level 3
Joined
Sep 19, 2010
Messages
183
Helped
35
Reputation
70
Reaction score
32
Trophy points
1,318
Location
Bangalore
Activity points
2,123
Re: Help : Orcad 16.5 capture to Orcad 16.2 layout

select .dsn file save as type. you will find lower version saving option...
 

mbeffa

Newbie level 5
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
8
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
California
Activity points
1,339
It is simpler than that. Simply save your 16.3 schematics in 16.2 format using 'SaveAs. Version 9.2 will then be able to read it.

Keith

Like most Orcad tools, this does not work. Maybe it works if your design consists of one resistor and a wire, but more than that,
it's a joke.
 

keith1200rs

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2009
Messages
10,877
Helped
2,064
Reputation
4,128
Reaction score
1,597
Trophy points
1,403
Location
Yorkshire, UK
Activity points
57,269
Why do you say it does not work? What happens? Do you get an error message? I have used this many times and it works fine (and my designs consist of around a dozen pages in a multi-level hierarchy). The only quirk I have come across is you need to click on the .dsn file first in the project window for the "save as 16.2" option to be there.

Keith
 

mbeffa

Newbie level 5
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
8
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
California
Activity points
1,339
Dear All,

Initially I'm using Orcad 9.2 for schematics then we moved to Orcad 16.3. But we have some issues with Orcad 16.3.

Now we want to convert schematics drawn in ver 16.3 to ver 9.2. is there any way to do it?

Plz help.

Regards

I tried almost all possible combinations based on various suggestions about this topic, and I finally succeeded to convert a rather
complex, 9 page hierarchical design from Capture 16.3 to 9.2. I had hundreds of failed attempts and one success. Here it is:

1. Open Design Resources, Right click on Library, add a project library with the name and path of your choice.
2. Right click on Design Cache - Cleanup Cache.
2. Right click on each component in the Design Cache, Copy.
3. Right click on Your Library, Paste.
4. Repeat the process for all components in the Design Cache.
5. Close your project.
6. Select File -> Open -> Library -> Your Library.
7. Select File -> Save As -> Capture 16.2
8. Open Capture 16.2. Believe it or not, you can load the 16.2 Library. Save As 9.2 Library
9. Go back to Capture 16.3 (or higher). Open your design.
In theory, you should be able to Save As Capture 16.2 and load it into 9.2.
It did not work for me, I was getting error messages. The only way to avoid it was to transfer one page at a time.
Better than re-drawing it. Here is the process:

Open a new design. Go to the design to be converted. Select the first page. Copy.
Go to the new design. Paste. Save As 16.2.
Go to Capture 9.2. Load the just-saved design. Save As 9.2
Repeat this process for each page in your design.

Hope it works for you.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top