Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Opinions on using Fedora Linux

Status
Not open for further replies.

magnetra

Full Member level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I'm a newbie in Linux world, and I've been suggested to start with Fedora as platform
What do you suggest?

Re: Fedora

This is a 1,000,000 $ question.

Basically, if you want set up a server box go for some Red Hat Enterprise Linux clone (CentOS, White Box) or Debian Stable.

If you need a workstation or notebook installation, my personal suggestion is:
1. Fedora Core - Pros: Red Hat compatibility, frequent updates; Cons: large installation, bloody RPM packaging system

2. Aurox - Pros: Red Hat compatible, focused on multimedia desktop; Cons: sometimes it takes a time to get the answer on a question

3. Debian - Pros: Stability (even "Unstable" edition is very stable), good support, very clean installtion, good packaging system; Cons: you have to go for Unstable edition to be up to date

4. Slackware - Pros: good packaging system, clean installation, clean configuration; Cons: It's one man show (whole distro is under control of 1 guy), support

Of cause you can buy some decent commercial distro like Novell SuSE or Mandrake, but you have to pay. On the other hand you'll get printed manuals (especially SuSE is very good) and full support. It's worth to try it.

hi,

in my opinion, if u are an absolute beginner to linux, its better to start with mandrake linux. its user friendly(compared to all other linux es). it is also said to be more unstable than any other linux. but doesnt matter ofr a newbie.