Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

opamp voltage follower

Status
Not open for further replies.

jayanthyk192

Full Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,

i started learning about opamps from a book by David Bell.I'm stuck up in the voltage follower cirucit(attached).i'm not able to analyze the circuit as there are too many parameters coming in.firstly the voltage V1 is increased,and according to the book the V feedback and hence V2 @ Q2 is zero.i did'nt understand this.then as the votage is increased all parameters sort of come together and makes my analysis difficult.so how do i analyze the circuit. j.jpg

It's great that you have a mind for the math aspects of electronics.

A voltage follower gives you more power available to drive the next stage. That's the simple definition.

It isolates the preceding stage from circuitry downstream.

The word follower refers to the idea that its output closely follows the input V.

You're probably referring to the fact that there's a resistor between emitter to ground. This can be used to send a feedback effect to the bias control circuit.

However feedback is not normally acting in this case ... however it would if you were to attach something drastic at the output, and conceivably that would disrupt the inner workings of the op amp.

It's great that you have a mind for the math aspects of electronics.

A voltage follower gives you more power available to drive the next stage. That's the simple definition.

It isolates the preceding stage from circuitry downstream.

The word follower refers to the idea that its output closely follows the input V.