Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

On-wafer mounted in package question

Status
Not open for further replies.

STOIKOV

Full Member level 4
Joined
Nov 18, 2005
Messages
236
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,083
Has anybody doing on-wafer mounted in package measurements ?
Maybe wiring DC signals to pads and applying and measuring RF signals through microprobes ?
 

STOIKOV

Full Member level 4
Joined
Nov 18, 2005
Messages
236
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,083
someone has performed on-wafer measurements with die mounted in its package ? Wonder if it's possible,
 

e.Horus

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Feb 14, 2006
Messages
30
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,581
I don't recommend it. You can easily damage the probe. If you do it anyways, don't package your die. Instead you can bond the DC pads directly to a board.
 

    STOIKOV

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

STOIKOV

Full Member level 4
Joined
Nov 18, 2005
Messages
236
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,083
you mean to solder the die pads to a PCB ? If yes, what kind of machine is needed, or the foundry can do a job of that kind ?

thanks,
 

e.Horus

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Feb 14, 2006
Messages
30
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,581
What you need to do is to fix the die directly on the board. The bioard should have the traces for the DC signals. Then you use bond wires to connect the pads to the traces on the board. Just be careful that the bond wires do not intercept the probes.
 

    STOIKOV

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

STOIKOV

Full Member level 4
Joined
Nov 18, 2005
Messages
236
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,083
I see, good idea but how I can solder from die pads to the PCB traces ? Need an special solder machin with very thin shape? thanks !
 

e.Horus

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Feb 14, 2006
Messages
30
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,581
You do not solder the pads. Use a wire bonder to place bond wires (same as those thin wires that connect the die to the package pins). However, skip the package and bond directly to the board.
 

    STOIKOV

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating
Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top