Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Offline switching power supply with microcontrolled output voltage

Status
Not open for further replies.

KX36

Junior Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi all,

I am trying to design a switch mode power supply to run off mains supply of 230Vac with a variable output voltage up to about 25Vdc set by a separate microcontroller. I'm not an electrical engineer and this is the first time I've done anything like this, I'm learning as I go along, but I'm not in a rush and this is all theory right now for me.

Here's what I need from it:
Offline SMPS, running on 230Vac mains supply
It would have to be an isolated topology
It would be probably around medium power (up to 100W load)
The output voltage has to be able to be adjusted over a wide range, from near 0V up to around 25V, by the output of a microcontroller (analog or digital output).
I want to keep it as simple as possible while maintaining function and stability (don't we all).

I have been looking at some application notes and datasheets for PWM controllers and I think that an isolated flyback circuit could work but I don't know how to control it from a microcontroller.

**broken link removed**

Here's a simple draft of a schematic based on this application note: https://www.ti.com/lit/an/slua143/slua143.pdf
The opto-isolator circuit is from this application note: https://www.fairchildsemi.com/an/AN/AN-400A.pdf