Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

non-intrusive load monitoring using pic

Status
Not open for further replies.

enamshah

Newbie level 6
Joined
May 19, 2011
Messages
14
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,386
I am doing a project on non-intrusive load monitoring using pic.can any body help me.
 

wizpic

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
May 23, 2004
Messages
780
Helped
108
Reputation
216
Reaction score
72
Trophy points
1,308
Location
London
Activity points
6,075
What type of load ?
what Pic ?
What language ?
You've not given us much to go off there
 

erio

Full Member level 3
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
176
Helped
27
Reputation
54
Reaction score
23
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Indonesia
Activity points
2,167
use current transformer for measuring current and ordinary mains transformer for voltage. Using suitable burden resistor,feed them to pic adc.
 

arbj

Full Member level 4
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
238
Helped
31
Reputation
62
Reaction score
20
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,601
for a current transformer you would have to put it in series with the load, this means cutting a high voltage line, which could be unsafe.

A better solution would be a hall effect sensor, similar to the ones used in clamp meters, unfortunately I have no idea where you can get these...
 

erio

Full Member level 3
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
176
Helped
27
Reputation
54
Reaction score
23
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Indonesia
Activity points
2,167
no there is no need to cutting high tension line, just use split core current transformer and clip it with "LIVE" line of mains. like this one Home | OpenEnergyMonitor
 

enamshah

Newbie level 6
Joined
May 19, 2011
Messages
14
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,386
What type of load ?
what Pic ?
What language ?
You've not given us much to go off there


In this project i have to monitor the electric loads(appliances/end devices) in a room using current and voltage sensors at the main power supply of the room.I have to display ON/OFF states of the applliances and also the power consumption of each load on a display.i am using pic micro controller.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top