Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Noise Simulation in a fully differential Circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

AlexanderTheGreat

Newbie level 4
Joined
Jul 14, 2009
Messages
5
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
Germany
Activity points
1,341
mit noise simulation

Hello,

I need to do a noise simulation with a fully differential OP-AMP with CMFB.
The first stage is a Folded Cascode Amp, the second a Class AB Stage.
The CMFB Amp is a simple OTA.

My question: I use SpectreS, the noise simulation need as parameters the positive and negative output node and the input source. Well, do I have to simulate every input separate or both together with a voltage source between the two input nodes?
If i have to do the simulaten separate for both input nodes, which nods do I choose for the negative and positive output nodes in the simulation options?

Thanks!
Alex
 

kwkam

Full Member level 5
Joined
Feb 25, 2002
Messages
276
Helped
30
Reputation
60
Reaction score
13
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Somewhere on earth
Activity points
1,886
spectre noise simulation

first you have to understand what is noise of a opamp. simulation is same as measurement, you need the source of noise and the node you are interested the noise from the source.
 

AlexanderTheGreat

Newbie level 4
Joined
Jul 14, 2009
Messages
5
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
Germany
Activity points
1,341
spectre fully differential

Hi,

I want to know the input refered noise for calculating the SNR.
I know how to use the noise simulation for a single ended OP-Amp but I don't know how to make a noise simulation for a fully differential OP Amp.
 

erikl

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 9, 2008
Messages
8,114
Helped
2,694
Reputation
5,368
Reaction score
2,294
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Germany
Activity points
44,061
noise of fully differential opamp

Hi Alex,
just put your expected input control impedance (equiv. resistor + (evt.) capacitor) between your input nodes; the output nodes are your (single ended) output and GND (or both nodes of a symmetric (double ended) output).
The Spectre simulation result tells you the noise contribution of your input source and those of all devices of your circuit, either in absolute values, or related to the input or to the output noise. I hope (for you), SpectreS can do the same! ;-)
Viel Spass bei (oder mit) dem "Laerm"! ;-) erikl
 

sutapanaki

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Nov 2, 2001
Messages
1,304
Helped
514
Reputation
1,028
Reaction score
468
Trophy points
1,363
Location
US
Activity points
10,760
simulation,differential op

If you specify you input stimuli as shown on the picture, you can refer the output differential noise back to Vi without a problem.
 

coffeelox

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Sep 22, 2006
Messages
26
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,436
simulating differential noise

don't know if you have noise simulation in SpectreS?
 

liuyj610

Newbie level 1
Joined
Jan 17, 2007
Messages
1
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,284
Re: mit noise simulation

Dear AlexanderTheGreat,
Do you have solved this problem?

AlexanderTheGreat said:
Hello,

I need to do a noise simulation with a fully differential OP-AMP with CMFB.
The first stage is a Folded Cascode Amp, the second a Class AB Stage.
The CMFB Amp is a simple OTA.

My question: I use SpectreS, the noise simulation need as parameters the positive and negative output node and the input source. Well, do I have to simulate every input separate or both together with a voltage source between the two input nodes?
If i have to do the simulaten separate for both input nodes, which nods do I choose for the negative and positive output nodes in the simulation options?

Thanks!
Alex
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top