Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Newbie quesion - a query with a circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

varun.s.murthy

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Newbie quesion

Hello everyone,
I am new to electronics and had a query with a circuit. Am attaching the query as an image here.

**broken link removed**

According to me,
When Vi > 0 , V = 1
When Vi < 0 , V = Vi

So is the answer (A) ?

Would be glad for any help.

<<Am really new here, so if there is anything wrong with the post/ the query is too simple,please let me know>>

Newbie quesion

i don't know , the answers are not clear ,

what does max(Vi,1) means?

Newbie quesion

max(Vi,1) is a function whose value will be the maximum of either Vi or 1

In other words
max(Vi,1) = Vi if Vi > 1
1 if Vi<1

Similarly for the min function.

Re: Newbie quesion

Look!:

If diode is conducting then V=Vin (because diode is ideal), the current through the first resistor is

Vi/1 and the current through the diode is 1-Vi . This current is positive; that is

1-Vi > 0

Vi < 1

Now, if diode is off, then the reverse voltage through de diode is -V+Vi and this is positive; that is:

-V+Vi>0 , but V=1A*1Ohm (due to current source), then:

Vi > 1

Then the answer is V=MIN(Vi,1)

Newbie quesion

The circuit is too simple.
The diode is reverse-biased so it does nothing.
Since there is 1A in 2 ohms then use Ohm's Law to calculate the input voltage.
Hint: 1A x 2 ohms= 2V.

If the question is multiple choice then you should have said so.

Audioguru: