Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

New to Silvaco TCAD, how to learn Silvaco TCAD?

Status
Not open for further replies.

cliff_kant

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
hi
I'm cliff, i just now joined this forum, well i need your help, i just started learning silvaco TCAD, windows version.
I'm doing Ph.D on solar cells.. In my college there is no one who can teach me, i have started learning from the examples that are given.
But what would be the ideal way of learning TCAD??
where shall i start from?
Right now I can simulate basic solar cells and diodes using atlas only, i still haven't worked on athena and other stuff...
if you have got some good website of tutorials or books, please do tell me...

The ideal way to learn TCAD...

First, it is very useful (I would say - it's mandatory) to know (or learn) the device physics of the device that you are planning to simulate.
Learn what Ohmic contact is, doping, p-n junction, carrier lifetime, electric field, basic parameters of the semiconductor, potential, the difference between potential and voltage, Fermi (or quasi-Fermi) level, electrons and holes, etc.
Learn how does device operate, what are the design parameters, optimization goal, ideal characteristics, parasitic effects, etc.

There are some books on that.

Second, you need to learn how to apply TCAD software to simulate the device.
The most valuable resource would be your knowledgeable, senior colleagues - but that seems to be not available to you...

Next is tutorial test cases from your TCAD vendor.