Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

new to pcb, please any input would help.

Status
Not open for further replies.

rubdawg

Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am trying to layout a pcb board for a test board and I have been trying to caluclate the width of a trace to make sure it is 50 ohms. I am an RF engineer and when I did my calculations I end up getting 2.54mm (milimeters) or (0.111 inches). Seems a little big but below is my parameters and attached is the picture of the paramters:

H=0.062 inches
T= 0.0017 inches
Zo=50 ohms
Er=4.6
and afer using a calculator it gave me W=0.1111 inches (2.54 inches)

This is a two layer board, copper on top and bottom. I used this site to caluclate the width: **broken link removed**

Hi,
With a 1.6mm thick board, the width of a 50R track is effectively too wide. Then you can work with 4 layer board and a thinner Top to bottom layer. Or if it is posiible you work with higher impedance tracks (it is the case if you work with high speed logic circuits by example). Please let me know if you have further questions. Good luck.

rubdawg

Helpful Answer Positive Rating
The results you got from the on line calculator are very close to the results I get with a field solver.

Your options to reduce the trace width are to reduce the thickness of the board, or run a return ground path in parallel with the top trace. The spacing of the ground path would be adjusted to give you the desired impedance with the desired trace width. This, of course, means two traces where you would have normally placed one.