Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

New to electronics... Where to start? Trying to learn on my own.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Koohyar

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi everybody! :)

This is my first post on this forum. I'm completely new to the subject of electronics and I'm interested to gain enough understanding on the subject to be able to design circuits on my own. I mean I don't want to copy simple circuits and then be happy that my LED is flashing while I have no idea how it is flashing and why it is flashing at such a rate, etc.

I use to learn staff on my own, and I think I'm good at it. But I've touched electronics several times before and each time I got confused and felt everything was vague. It seems there is some necessary information which isn't explained on online tutorials.

Well, so far I understand the ohm law and I am able to make a circuit which has some LEDs (parallel or series) and choose the right resistors to get the current I need for each LED.

For the next step, I decided to learn how to make it flash at some rate... Surprisingly after a lot of searching and reading and watching video tutorials, I still have no idea how to "calculate" and choose the right resistors, capacitors, and transistors to do it. Even more surprising, when I copy a circuit which is supposed to work in my software (Crocodile Technology 609), it doesn't flash at all. I guess the transistors in the software are different from the one used in the circuit.

I generally need good links (or even books) which step by step teach me how to "design" and NOT copy circuits.