Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

New to EDK...Guidance needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tan

Full Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
edk how to generate bitstream from netlist

Hi floks,
I am new to EDK tool..I started studying it.However i ahve some doubts regarding the utilistaion of the tool.I would really appriciate if i get some guidance from you people.

1. Initially when i clicked EDK icon which i installed on the desktop i saw a dialogue box wherein i selected Base System Builder Wizard(recommended), next

2. Created a project file ,next

3.I selecetd a "I would like to create a new design." next

4.in selection board,i would like to creat a system for following development board. there in drop in box i selected XILINX
board name :virtex4 ML403 Evaluation platform,
processor POWER PC. next went for default setting,

5.selected UARTlite...etc..

after this what should be done??

I went for GENERATE NETLIST in HARWARE option..
it took long time to generate netlist atlast generated..after that i went for generate bitfile..
this is where the problem arised...
bitfile is not generated....
i donno what to do after harware selections randomly i went and clicked the netlist generation and then bitfile generation..

can anyone please guide me set by set process till the end how to download the programm into the board..

i also need to know how to see the software part and how to edit if necessary...

please guide me..

edk bitfile generation takes long

Hi,
Could you plz tell me what version of EDK you have?