Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

need some help plz.. im new....

Status
Not open for further replies.

HDD

Newbie level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi, first I want to say is that this forums looks nice and is visited by many smart folks... :)

Now... Im totally new to electronics... im good with computers... and I fiddle with electronics all the time.. but I want to build a simple thing.. and was wondering if someone could give me some guidence... :)

The Project: Keypad, when number pressed to be stored in non-voletile memory (in case battery dies..) with time (and date if possible...) and be able to get the information in regular text to computer from that memory at later time...

If someone could tell me what i need... I have keypad... but what else is needed and how to wire from each number to what.. and how to connect to computer to be able to read the memory.... any help GREATLY appreciated...

Thanks!!

You will need a Microcontroller
I use AVRs , PIC is another option

U will need to make a real time clock on ur Microcontroller if u want to hv a stand alone unit otherwise PC clock can be used.
As for memory and storage part AVR has got inbuilt memory and u can easily transfer data to PC for displaying using USART

As of now get hands on one and get going thru its datasheets.
www.avrfreaks.com is one good site for AVRs , don't hv much of idea regarding PICs