Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need help understanding this circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

VILeninDM

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi everyone,

I am relatively new to the whole field. Been trying to teach myself this stuff on and off, but for some reason it just not sinking in. I've read few basic books and found them extremely simple, but none of them actually taught how to use transistors (2 did explain what they are but gave very vague details in only 10 pages or so).

Then I found 'Art of Electronics' by Horowitz and Hill. Very good book, but now the problem is that I feel it is just slightly over my head. It can take me about half an hour to read a single page because I always try to figure out what they are actually saying, and authors make way too many assumptions (IMO) that reader just understands all this, so their explanations are lacking at times. At the same time, I don't keep going until I figure out what I just read, so everything just seems to take forever.

Every circuit that I didn't get right away, I put in pspice and run the simulation and play with the numbers. So far PSpice has been a great tool in helping me understand what is actually going on, and this way I got through 89 pages so far.

Now attached is a circuit. According to pspice it works as designed, but I am still not sure why. Can someone provide a verbal analysis in their own words (in case you know what section in the book it came from) of what goes on here?