Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need help for inductor design on standard CMOS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beardolphinaries

Member level 2
Joined
Aug 21, 2007
Messages
48
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,594
ads momentum eddy current

Hi, I'am recently doing the inductor design on CMOS.
There is one thing I am confused. Usually, people do the patterned ground shield on polysilicon. In standard CMOS technology, the there is a thin gate oxide layer between the polysilicon and the p-substrate. Because I need model the CMOS technology file in ADS before the design, just don't know how to add these layers. I mean, the bottom layer is p-substrate, and on top of that, is that the gate oxide, poly, oxide,M1.... as usual? Or, for inductor design, this oxide thickness between the poly and p-sub can be any value?

Thanks a lot.
 

kspalla

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Aug 19, 2008
Messages
1,256
Helped
258
Reputation
516
Reaction score
94
Trophy points
1,328
Location
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Activity points
6,812
ADS do not recognize poly, oxide etc.You need to define the layer dielectric constant and layer thickness, conductor properties, thickness etc.
So determine these parameters from the 0.18un or what ever the process.
 

Beardolphinaries

Member level 2
Joined
Aug 21, 2007
Messages
48
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,594
Ok, thanks a lot. I see.
And I've got another question about the real inductor design. I just don't know what's on top of the p-substrate. Is that a layer of oxide like gate oxide in CMOS transistor? or some other thing? I mean the normal situation on standard CMOS.
Really appreciated.
 

BigBoss

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Nov 17, 2001
Messages
5,120
Helped
1,529
Reputation
3,056
Reaction score
1,376
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Turkey
Activity points
30,787
kspalla said:
ADS do not recognize poly, oxide etc.You need to define the layer dielectric constant and layer thickness, conductor properties, thickness etc.
So determine these parameters from the 0.18un or what ever the process.

Wrong information..:?:
ADS recognizes polysilicon,oxide layers,nitride layers as well as metallic layers. etc. if you define dielectric coefficients and magnetic permeability constants.:!:

It doesn't know what they are only..
 

Beardolphinaries

Member level 2
Joined
Aug 21, 2007
Messages
48
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,594
OK, thanks.
One particular question is that, I found there is a
'base_dielectric layer =0.3 um , in ITF file
is this the dielectric layer thickness between the polysilicon and p-substrate? THanks.
 

Beardolphinaries

Member level 2
Joined
Aug 21, 2007
Messages
48
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,594
Another question is that:
Can ADS momentum simulate eddy current effect?
Thanks
 

BigBoss

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Nov 17, 2001
Messages
5,120
Helped
1,529
Reputation
3,056
Reaction score
1,376
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Turkey
Activity points
30,787
Beardolphinaries said:
Another question is that:
Can ADS momentum simulate eddy current effect?
Thanks

I guess the latest versions can take them into acount if the " vertical currents" option is selected.
But I'm not sure 100%..
 

Beardolphinaries

Member level 2
Joined
Aug 21, 2007
Messages
48
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,594
Hi, thanks a lot indeed.
My version is 2006a. Do you know where I can find this option? In substrate configuration?
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top