Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need help for 200 watt power supply, Source is 12 volts DC

Status
Not open for further replies.

pcmaker.dude

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
guys i need help cause im not much of an electronics engineer and im more in computers and i need help on making a 200 watt power supply but without 220-240 voltage source but instead i need a 200 watt power supply that uses 12 volts DC.? really need help

atxps.png

- - - Updated - - -

Guys i recommend detailin gyour comments cause im a noob in electronics! Tnks

Last edited:

Re: This is th estupidest question in the whole world?

Is this for your vehicle? You may want to investigate something like raspberry pi, which can operate from 5v.
Otherwise, I'd suggest that it is quite hard for someone new to electronics to develop a PC power supply that operates from
12V.
There is the inverter option to take 12V and convert to 220 so that you can power a conventional 220V PC power supply.
It becomes unattractive and takes up a lot of space. Hence you may want to evaluate if a smaller computing platform (e.g.
rasp-pi, or something else) is a better choice.

I understand you want a computer PSU that runs off 12V DC instead of 230V AC, but where does the 12V DC come from? Is it a nice clean regulated 12V, or is it something like a car battery, which can vary anywhere between 11V to 14V or worse?

Uh i just would like to take out the 120-220 to 12 volts dc converter on this schematic...