Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need guideline for NRZI output related question

Status
Not open for further replies.

moonnightingale

Full Member level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I need a guideline to start this verilog question. I have to write a verilog code that will output NRZI data stream.
Can u kindly explain me how to go about it.

Last edited:

Kindly just give me broder guide line, how to start, actually i am studying verilog after two years.
I know all abt gate level, behaviour level but i am confused how to give input in verilog and how to go about clock
what i remember i use to give clock while using FPGA kit Spartan 3E by using it own clock of 25 MHZ crystal
how to generate clock in software code b/c in FPGA kit while making UCF file, i used to define the pin for clock and code use to pick clock from there

In your 1st posting, you state, "...write a verilog code that will accept serial data and clock ...". Your (synthesizable) verilog module will simply list 'clock', "reset", and "serial_data_in" as inputs and "nrzi_data_out" as an output - same as the top level module that you have seen in your Xilinx ISE applications. There are a gazillion websites that explain how to put together a simple verilog module and write a simple verilog testbench to verify it. If I understand your question, you should not be concerned with where the clock, reset, din, and dout come from. You only need to be concerned about the logic to convert from NRZ to NRZI.