Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

need advice/help with opamp circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

Will69

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi, newbie here so be gentle :roll:

I'm a total hack with electronics, generally I look at how others have done circuits and try to modify them to suit what I need, so be warned I may be missing some fundamentals.
I am building a hydraulic/pnuematic brake system for use with an existing PC steering wheel - I sim race online every week!

I'm waiting for some hardware for my pressure cylinder, but the basics are that when I apply the brake pedal I expect to go from 0psi to around 70-80psi in the cylinder. I plan on using a freescale MPX5700ASX sensor to detect the pressure and the sensor outputs 0-4.7v over 0-101psi

therefore I'm expecting to generate 0v-4v approximately as I use my brake pedal.

My steering wheel uses 5v-0v on the existing pedal so it's inverted and also uses close enough the full 5v range (there's a 5v supply to the pedal unit)

My idea isn't unique, there is an existing commercial hydraulic unit that you can buy, it's expensive though and I like the challenge of DIY ;-) I have a lathe I will be using to build the mechanicals. The commercial design from what I can tell from looking at pictures uses the same MPX5700ASX sensor, and feeds the output into what I beleive is a diferential amplifier circuit similar to this
commercial.JPG