Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Naive question about hardware engineering terminology

Status
Not open for further replies.

megahurts

Newbie level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I tried to post this in the "Electronic Elementary Questions" section, but it would refuse to open a new topic without giving any error message. After peeling my eyes for a while I saw a tiny "forum is locked" message somewhere on that page, so I gave up. So, I am posting this here, please advise as to where the right place for this post would be.

Hello, I am a software engineer building a piece of software which is attempting to draw some analogies from hardware engineering and I need help with some terminology.

I will try to express what I want as clearly as I can, but I am sure I will fail miserably, so based on your answers I will probably have to rephrase my questions. So, this is a rough draft, please bare with me.

My software is a software module manager and it draws an analogy between software modules and hardware chips. Let me make clear that I am not trying to describe, emulate, or otherwise model hardware. I am writing a piece of software which is a tool to aid software engineering, and I just want to base my paradigm on the existing hardware engineering paradigm.