Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Multidevice interleaved bidirectional boost converter

Status
Not open for further replies.

orcuns91

Junior Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi everybody,
I'm an MSc student and I'm writing my thesis subject about dc dc converters of electric vehicles. I having a problem because I couldn't get enough help from my advisor in this pandemic period. I'm trying to evaluate the performance of SiC mosfets in multidevice interleaved bidirectional boost converters instead of Silicon Mosfets. The converter must be bidirectional because of increasing efficieny of EVs. However, I could not find an article on analysis of the circuit expect for the unidirectional one. (https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/document/7054946) Normally I know I should replace diodes with mosfets, but I'm confused about gate signals because of the circuit's structure.
In conculusion,
1. Do you have any article about the analysis of multidevice interleaved bidirectional boost converters?
2. How can I convert the unidirectional MBIC converter to bidirectional one?

Bidirectional suggests stepping up in one direction (boost converter)...
then step down (buck converter?) in the other direction. Is that your plan?

It's one challenge to bias transistors at the right times so they conduct in one direction. Mosfets have the body diode which conducts in the opposite direction. It's another challenge for you to arrange the circuit correctly, so current flows the way it's supposed to.