Status
Not open for further replies.

Renato_PERU_1979

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
People, please, I'm new in the use of HSPICE, so I need some helps. I tried to simulate somethings with a mosfet. and I tried to find the maximun point in the deriv('sqrt(id(mn1))') and the Vgs for that point, and the sqrt(id(mn1)) for the same Vgs point. I know that I can do that using par functions and plotting in cosmo scope, but I want to use the Measure command. I did something like this to find the maximun point in the deriv('sqrt(id(mn1))') and the Vgs for that point:

Code:
.measure dc deriv_sqrt_id_max max deriv'(sqrt(id(mn1)))'

The hspice gave me the good answer : deriv_sqrt_id_max= 5.7847E-03 at= 1.1300E+00

But the problem is when a tried to use the same command .measure to find the sqrt(id(mn1)) in that point. I tried something like this:

Code:
.measure dc sqrt_id find par('sqrt(id(mn1))') when par='max(deriv(sqrt(id(mn1))))'

I know that I wrong in the last code, but I tried to explain what I want, something like "to nested" or "to link" the measure command. Is it possible?

Thanks!

Code:
.measure dc sqrt_id find par('sqrt(id(mn1))') when par='max(deriv(sqrt(id(mn1))))'

In your 1st .measure statement (which worked), you used 'quote signs' for the deriv expression term. Try this in your 2nd statement, too:
Code:
 .measure dc sqrt_id find par('sqrt(id(mn1))') when par='max(deriv '(sqrt(id(mn1)))')'

If this doesn't work either, try a comparison within the when expression:
Code:
 .measure dc sqrt_id find par('sqrt(id(mn1))') when par('sqrt(id(mn1))') = par(max(deriv '(sqrt(id(mn1)))'))

Hi erikl ! thanks a lot for your help! but the code didn't work yet. Now I'll tried to do a better explanation about the simulation that I want. The circuit is like this:

Code:
Vdd 1 0 gs
mn1 1 1 0 0 n L=2u W=2u

.dc gs 0 2 1m 
.option probe 
.options dcon=1 
.probe dc id(mn1) 
.probe dc sqrt_id=par('sqrt(id(mn1))')