Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[Moved] PWM to sine wave generator

Status
Not open for further replies.

psychoticjoe

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello,

I am a newbie to verilog and just got a hold of a FPGA Spartan 3E board but now im in need of some help. Of course I have done a lot of searching and reading first. Anyways, the task I am faced with is to use a Look-up table to generate PWM that will be outputted into an RC filter which will convert my PWM to a 60 Hz sinewave. My board runs at 50 MHz. I am not sure how to use the look up table to create the PWM that will eventually become a 60 Hz sine wave.
ANY feedback is greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Joe

The basic principal is that, after filtering, a narrow pulsewidth will yield a low voltage and a wide pulse width will yield a high voltage. Your lookup table will be a table of pulse-widths that correspond to the levels of your sinewave. For example, lets say you use a 36 element table. Each element would represent a ten-degree step through the sine wave. Element 0 would correspond to sine(0), element 1 would be sine(10), element 2 would be sine(20), and so on.

The basic principal is that, after filtering, a narrow pulsewidth will yield a low voltage and a wide pulse width will yield a high voltage. Your lookup table will be a table of pulse-widths that correspond to the levels of your sinewave. For example, lets say you use a 36 element table. Each element would represent a ten-degree step through the sine wave. Element 0 would correspond to sine(0), element 1 would be sine(10), element 2 would be sine(20), and so on.