Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[Moved] orcad simulation problem boost circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
48,427
Helped
14,252
Reputation
28,765
Reaction score
12,942
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
280,223
Re: orcad simulation problem boost circuit

Do you expect a MOSFET being turned on with 1V gate voltage? Show the gate waveform.
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
48,427
Helped
14,252
Reputation
28,765
Reaction score
12,942
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
280,223
You are using a digital stimulation signal instead of an analog pulse generator to drive the MOSFET, apparently without understanding the specific behaviour of the mixed signal (PSpice AD) tools.

Two options:
- read the AD user manual to learn how to use the mixed signal features correctly
- use a regular VPULSE source
 

Arrowspace

Banned
Joined
Jan 23, 2015
Messages
186
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
18
Activity points
0
Thanks FvM , for providing usefull information

my output is rising too slow and I want to make it constant at 6V . How can i do that?
 

Attachments

  • 1.JPG
    1.JPG
    84.2 KB · Views: 9
  • 2.JPG
    2.JPG
    45.2 KB · Views: 10

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
48,427
Helped
14,252
Reputation
28,765
Reaction score
12,942
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
280,223
Constant duty cycle will never give constant voltage, you'll use a PWM controller utilizing a voltage control loop.
 

Arrowspace

Banned
Joined
Jan 23, 2015
Messages
186
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
18
Activity points
0
How can I do that , is their any provision in orcad for it.
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
48,427
Helped
14,252
Reputation
28,765
Reaction score
12,942
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
280,223
Use a PWM controller IC model, or more instructive, design a simple behavioral model of a PWM controller comprised of a reference voltage, an error amplifier with PI characteristic, a triangle voltage source and a comparator.
 

Arrowspace

Banned
Joined
Jan 23, 2015
Messages
186
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
18
Activity points
0
Hello FvM , I am looking for logic level MOSFET in orcad simulation
 

Arrowspace

Banned
Joined
Jan 23, 2015
Messages
186
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
18
Activity points
0
which PWM controller IC should i use
 

Arrowspace

Banned
Joined
Jan 23, 2015
Messages
186
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
18
Activity points
0
Hello FvM , In circuit my both MOSFET M50 and M51 gate connected at different voltage, but both capacitors C1 and C2 getting discharge with same rate
 

Attachments

  • 10.pdf
    8.6 KB · Views: 4
  • SCHEMATIC1 _ PAGE1.pdf
    12 KB · Views: 4

Arrowspace

Banned
Joined
Jan 23, 2015
Messages
186
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
18
Activity points
0
Thanks bradtherad, Can i do IC level layout of this boot converter in orcad
 

BradtheRad

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 1, 2011
Messages
14,071
Helped
2,796
Reputation
5,592
Reaction score
2,706
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Activity points
104,956
Thanks bradtherad, Can i do IC level layout of this boot converter in orcad

The inductor needs to contain a certain amount of ferrous metal to work.

So if you are asking whether an entire boost converter will fit on an IC, then I believe the answer is no.
 

Arrowspace

Banned
Joined
Jan 23, 2015
Messages
186
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
18
Activity points
0
Ok , after leaving inductor can i fit other component on IC
 

BradtheRad

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 1, 2011
Messages
14,071
Helped
2,796
Reputation
5,592
Reaction score
2,706
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Activity points
104,956
The load capacitor is also too large to put in an IC.

I suppose you plan to add the control circuit? The control circuit needs to be smart. It must manage two behaviors. It must maintain on-off action in the transistor. It cannot allow it to stay on.

The control circuit must also monitor output voltage. It must alter the duty cycle, so that it maintains your desired output voltage.
 

Arrowspace

Banned
Joined
Jan 23, 2015
Messages
186
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
18
Activity points
0
Ok I just want to do layout of that transistor or MOSFET, know this is possible. Can you tell me, how can I do that in orcad?
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top