Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

[SOLVED] Motherboard problem with ps/2 port

Status
Not open for further replies.

peter_england

Full Member level 4
Joined
Jul 24, 2012
Messages
199
Helped
11
Reputation
22
Reaction score
11
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,478
ps/2 port on motherboard not working but keyboard receiving power when booting but keyboard not working or detected; checked with known good keyboard but problem persists please help me to troubleshoot the problem.
 

iamkamalrandhawa

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Nov 30, 2011
Messages
110
Helped
26
Reputation
52
Reaction score
21
Trophy points
1,298
Location
india
Activity points
1,783
Clear CMOS.
ps/2 port on motherboard not working but keyboard receiving power when booting but keyboard not working or detected; checked with known good keyboard but problem persists please help me to troubleshoot the problem.
 

yura717

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Aug 24, 2009
Messages
690
Helped
90
Reputation
178
Reaction score
89
Trophy points
1,308
Location
USA
Activity points
4,589
It will not help....
 

peter_england

Full Member level 4
Joined
Jul 24, 2012
Messages
199
Helped
11
Reputation
22
Reaction score
11
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,478
good info given thanks yura717. i checked clear cmos but not helped.---iamkamalrandhawa
 

iamkamalrandhawa

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Nov 30, 2011
Messages
110
Helped
26
Reputation
52
Reaction score
21
Trophy points
1,298
Location
india
Activity points
1,783
ok then just remove the Decoupling capacitors in line of data and clock. i am sure 90% your provlem will solve if problem persist then you have to check where is ps2 controller and check track is broken between controller or change the ps2 controller . if problem remains then you have to recopy BIOS.
good info given thanks yura717. i checked clear cmos but not helped.---iamkamalrandhawa
 

yura717

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Aug 24, 2009
Messages
690
Helped
90
Reputation
178
Reaction score
89
Trophy points
1,308
Location
USA
Activity points
4,589
You did not ask what kind motherboard he is using? and you already recommend to reflash BIOS?
 

yura717

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Aug 24, 2009
Messages
690
Helped
90
Reputation
178
Reaction score
89
Trophy points
1,308
Location
USA
Activity points
4,589
I never heard about "desktop PC motherboard" model.
 

peter_england

Full Member level 4
Joined
Jul 24, 2012
Messages
199
Helped
11
Reputation
22
Reaction score
11
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,478
thanks both you i have checked the tracks through i/o controller and found ok but i not tried to check with data and clock line caps .. i will try it .. any further idea please from Yura717 ??

- - - Updated - - -

My motherboard model is msi g31 chipset.
 

iamkamalrandhawa

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Nov 30, 2011
Messages
110
Helped
26
Reputation
52
Reaction score
21
Trophy points
1,298
Location
india
Activity points
1,783
Realy?? but this is not my fault.
I never heard about "desktop PC motherboard" model.
- - - Updated - - -

i have described all methods to repair ps2 port problems. there is nothing more to repair it. if you apply all given methods and problem not solve then buy a new one.
thanks both you i have checked the tracks through i/o controller and found ok but i not tried to check with data and clock line caps .. i will try it .. any further idea please from Yura717 ??

- - - Updated - - -

My motherboard model is msi g31 chipset.
 

peter_england

Full Member level 4
Joined
Jul 24, 2012
Messages
199
Helped
11
Reputation
22
Reaction score
11
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,478
Hey iamkamalrandhawa -- i am sorry i didnt mentioned m/b model.

- - - Updated - - -

yes thanks i will try and dont get panic coz i want the help from all you friends please be in touch i need your help thanks .
and thanks for helping me..:)
 

iamkamalrandhawa

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Nov 30, 2011
Messages
110
Helped
26
Reputation
52
Reaction score
21
Trophy points
1,298
Location
india
Activity points
1,783
Dont worry Mr. Peter England We are happy to helping each other.
Hey iamkamalrandhawa -- i am sorry i didnt mentioned m/b model.

- - - Updated - - -

yes thanks i will try and dont get panic coz i want the help from all you friends please be in touch i need your help thanks .
and thanks for helping me..:)
 

peter_england

Full Member level 4
Joined
Jul 24, 2012
Messages
199
Helped
11
Reputation
22
Reaction score
11
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,478
thanks >> :smile:

- - - Updated - - -

hey kamal i have one query about Wipro LCD monitor last time after power fluctuation lcd monitor not working

- - - Updated - - -

and after that when i start it only displays nothing but if i removed vga cable then it shows osd no signal window without any wording..
 

iamkamalrandhawa

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Nov 30, 2011
Messages
110
Helped
26
Reputation
52
Reaction score
21
Trophy points
1,298
Location
india
Activity points
1,783
Wipro LCD Model....??
thanks >> :smile:

- - - Updated - - -

hey kamal i have one query about Wipro LCD monitor last time after power fluctuation lcd monitor not working

- - - Updated - - -

and after that when i start it only displays nothing but if i removed vga cable then it shows osd no signal window without any wording..
 

peter_england

Full Member level 4
Joined
Jul 24, 2012
Messages
199
Helped
11
Reputation
22
Reaction score
11
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,478
hi , i dont have model no. with me its 15 inch lcd display and it is very cheaper lcd ..
i think the problem is due to corrupted bios on it but i dont know how to trbleshhot the same and found two flash chips on the circuit..
 

peter_england

Full Member level 4
Joined
Jul 24, 2012
Messages
199
Helped
11
Reputation
22
Reaction score
11
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,478
Hi how to check that smd capacitors and what is decoupling capacitors ?? also please clarify the procedure to determine values of chip (SMD CAPACITORS) since it has not any number or markings on that pls help.. thanks...

ok then just remove the Decoupling capacitors in line of data and clock. i am sure 90% your provlem will solve if problem persist then you have to check where is ps2 controller and check track is broken between controller or change the ps2 controller . if problem remains then you have to recopy BIOS.
 

tpetar

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Sep 27, 2010
Messages
6,427
Helped
1,712
Reputation
3,454
Reaction score
1,677
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Pancevo-Belgrade, Serbia
Activity points
37,376
ps/2 port on motherboard not working but keyboard receiving power when booting but keyboard not working or detected; checked with known good keyboard but problem persists please help me to troubleshoot the problem.
Hi, Peter and rest of company,

Did you try to use another keyboard on that PS/2 port ?

Did you inspect PS/2 connector, maybe is damaged, or maybe is something inside pin holes.
 

peter_england

Full Member level 4
Joined
Jul 24, 2012
Messages
199
Helped
11
Reputation
22
Reaction score
11
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,478
Yes i tried the another k/b and this problem happened suddenly to about 3 to 4 m/b at a time .. another k/b not work as well there is nothing in pin-hole.. thanks for replaying ..
 

peter_england

Full Member level 4
Joined
Jul 24, 2012
Messages
199
Helped
11
Reputation
22
Reaction score
11
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,478
Yes finally my problem solved You are genius Kamal Randhawa First thanks very much .. i have removed that caps and keyboard is working normally now Thanks again ... And keep helping others *** Bless you..:grin:
ok then just remove the Decoupling capacitors in line of data and clock. i am sure 90% your provlem will solve if problem persist then you have to check where is ps2 controller and check track is broken between controller or change the ps2 controller . if problem remains then you have to recopy BIOS.
 
  • Like
Reactions: yura717

    yura717

    points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating
Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top