Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

most cheap way of communicating the s7-200 with the pc

Status
Not open for further replies.

mayur_dand

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Jun 24, 2003
Messages
25
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
ankleshwar
Activity points
228
pc/ppi cable

hello friends
couple of days back i burnet my pcppi cable and mpi on also now can any on suggest me hoe to communicate with plc using the cheap alternative ok


it's urgent for me

if u can help me please mail or pm me at mayur_dand@rediffmail.com
 

jackrs

Member level 3
Joined
Apr 18, 2003
Messages
67
Helped
12
Reputation
24
Reaction score
10
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Dark side of the moon.
Activity points
441
make a pc/ppi cable

Hi

Try this circuit.
It works only with s7 200.

Best Regards

jackrs 8)
 

ferrungas

Newbie level 2
Joined
Sep 11, 2002
Messages
2
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
8
pc/ppi cable singapore

how can i connect to S5? could you help me?
 

jackrs

Member level 3
Joined
Apr 18, 2003
Messages
67
Helped
12
Reputation
24
Reaction score
10
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Dark side of the moon.
Activity points
441
pc/ppi cable picture

Hi ferrungas

When i downloaded the file "ppi cable for s7_200", i remenber that autor said in you web page "it work only whit s7_200" !!!
But you can try this other circuit.
I never had tested any of this circuits.
Try at your own risk !!!

Best Regards

jackrs 8)
 

7rots51

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
May 17, 2002
Messages
1,184
Helped
25
Reputation
50
Reaction score
12
Trophy points
1,318
Activity points
9,635
s7 200 wiring diagram cable

Is it work for s7-300?
 

kimkhan

Newbie level 2
Joined
Aug 15, 2004
Messages
2
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
15
s7200 programmer usb cable schematic

Can you guys post me the diagram and an alternative software to use to program /upload/Download S7 -300 PLCs.

Thanks,

Kim
 

Milan-Sr

Newbie level 4
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
7
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
Serbia
Activity points
80
s72xx_ppi_197.rar

Hi,
I made PC/PPI cable using your schematic,but Step 7 Microwin show me the error.
I have 2 questions:

1. Can you give me value of resistor on schematic (R1)?
2. Do I have to connect RST pin oc PC side somewere?

Thanks
Milan
 

jackrs

Member level 3
Joined
Apr 18, 2003
Messages
67
Helped
12
Reputation
24
Reaction score
10
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Dark side of the moon.
Activity points
441
ppi cable schamatic

Hi Milan-Sr


As you can see in the file "s72XX_ppi_197.rar", in the file "NOTE.TXT", R1=1200Ω.


To all connections please refer to file "Pc_s7_1_200 adapter" in the file "s72XX_ppi_197.rar".


Note: i never build this circuit...

Regards.

jackrs
 

Milan-Sr

Newbie level 4
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
7
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
Serbia
Activity points
80
plc 222 dcdcdc

Hi,Jackrs

Error:
Master exist on the profibus network and the cuuuent device does not support master.

????
What now??

Regards.

Milan
 

tuanha

Newbie level 2
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
2
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
18
s7-200 circuit

Please post again some schematic/diagram of a "cheap" ppi-cable?

Thanh you very much.
 

inglaof

Newbie level 5
Joined
Jan 6, 2006
Messages
8
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,440
pc connect to s7 200 schematic

Hi Milan Sir...

Well, the schematic of the cable shown bellow on the links should work at least perfectly. In the link, there is also a doc file in which the autor explain that he used succesfuly, at least with the same link troubles with the original one, maybe your troubleshoot must be the configuration of the link, maybe the PC acts like master and the device is configured as master too, im not shure, i'll hope soon try this cable with an S7-200 that i eraned in a exchange for a Logo jejeje

And, the circuit diagram of the link about the cable, its not a big secret from Siemens, the circuit only transform RS232 voltage levels and logic to TTL logic, and after traslate the logic from TTL to RS485 signals, so, thats the big deal, only transform that signals, and in that case, the energy or voltage source from the circuits comes from the PLC and not from the PC port, so, if you already build that cable, and have troubles, check the ground's, you must bypass or join both grounds to read and transmit correct information trougtht both BUS...

See ya fellows, its a nice place this forum, every time i visit it, im more surprised..
Greetings from Mexico... forgive my rude english, i barely speak it... see ya..
 

microcozmoz

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Jul 12, 2003
Messages
19
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
182
ic 75176 circuit diagram

Dear Friends,

Are u sure about this circuit is working?

Please let me know cause I made the circuit but cant connect to PLC..
 

macir

Newbie level 5
Joined
Apr 18, 2006
Messages
10
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,343
pc to ppi cable circuit diagram

Hii

I tried again this circuit and I made it. it is working. It was succesfull

thanks
 

zanor

Member level 4
Joined
Feb 17, 2006
Messages
79
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Location
Norway
Activity points
2,039
pc ppi cable

Hi!

I just made the pc/ppi cable from the schematics above and I just get the "Masers exist on the PROFIBUS ....... " error too.

macir: What did you do to get around this problem?
 

macir

Newbie level 5
Joined
Apr 18, 2006
Messages
10
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,343
siemens s7 200 to a pc

Hi! zanor

ther are two problem picture three.
1- max 232 power pin (16 food) no (+) power you mut give (+) power this point
2- 75176 power pin is empty you must give (+) power this point.

excuse me my english not good
if you want I can send email picture 3
I have got s7 200 22cpu and it is working good this cable
see you next

Love from Turkey
 

zanor

Member level 4
Joined
Feb 17, 2006
Messages
79
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Location
Norway
Activity points
2,039
232 schematic 75176

macir said:
Hi! zanor

ther are two problem picture three.
1- max 232 power pin (16 food) no (+) power you mut give (+) power this point
2- 75176 power pin is empty you must give (+) power this point.

excuse me my english not good
if you want I can send email picture 3
I have got s7 200 22cpu and it is working good this cable
see you next

Love from Turkey

Thank you for replying!

My + pins are OK.

But should the RX LED always be on? it goes off if I remove the 75176 from it's socket. And also the error msg goes away if I remove the 75176 IC, but then of course I get a timeout when trying to communicate with my PLC :p

I found that my 75176 IC may be broken, because when it's not connected to the PCB I get 15 OHm between pin 5 and 6.
This can't be normal or is it? Could you please measure your's?

BTW, I also have the S7 200 222CPU.
 

macir

Newbie level 5
Joined
Apr 18, 2006
Messages
10
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,343
s7-200 pc connection

Hi! zanor

I first made this circuit Rx and Tx led always on
and there were comunication fals after I made again connect 232 16.pin (+) and 75176 8. pin (+)
Tx and Rx led only on as fliflop when knowledge flov (232 IC 15.pin gnd and 75176 5.pin gnd Pc connector 5.pin gnd) all of them must be

my email

macir26@hotmail.com

please send me email adress

I will send you my change on board
I have got s7 200 222 (DCDCDC and DCDCRLY)cpu and it is working good this cable

see you

Added after 20 minutes:

Hii
Ic pins


max 232
1 o U o 16 (+)
2 o o 15 gnd
3 o o 14
. .
. .
. .

75176

1 o U o 8 (+)
2 o o 7
3 o o 6
4 o o 5 gnd
 

zanor

Member level 4
Joined
Feb 17, 2006
Messages
79
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Location
Norway
Activity points
2,039
75176 circuit diagram

Got it working now.
My SN75176 was broken. Works like a charm now :D
 

macir

Newbie level 5
Joined
Apr 18, 2006
Messages
10
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,343
pc cable s7-200 circut

Hii
if you want to learn this circuit

you can send mail macir26@hotmail.com

I can send circuit shematic
 

molehiya

Newbie level 2
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
2
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,288
s7-200 cable

The circuit is working.

My problem is about the boudrate of the communication between plc and pc.

The given circuit is communicate 9600kbps. Is there a any way to increase the

boudrate upto 115200 kbps? Anybody know it?
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top