Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

monopole antenna with wave port

Status
Not open for further replies.

poonam191

Newbie level 3
Joined
Mar 19, 2015
Messages
4
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
22
i want to use wave port for monopole antenna. how can i do it??
anyone have design of monopole antenna?
 

davenn

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jul 1, 2009
Messages
844
Helped
192
Reputation
384
Reaction score
163
Trophy points
1,323
Location
Sydney, Australia
Activity points
6,379
i want to use wave port for monopole antenna. how can i do it??
anyone have design of monopole antenna?
I have absolutely no idea what you mean by a "wave port" ??
I cant find any reference to such a thing other than to do with harbours and shipping

car to explain a bit more ?

cheers
Dave
 

Terminator3

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Feb 25, 2012
Messages
806
Helped
71
Reputation
142
Reaction score
67
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
9,042
First you need to decide feeding of monopulse antenna. You can google for monopole and about ground plane for monopole or give more info.
 

poonam191

Newbie level 3
Joined
Mar 19, 2015
Messages
4
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
22
i want to make arm touch with ground in monopole. n then want to give wave port/lump port. how can i design it?

- - - Updated - - -

I have absolutely no idea what you mean by a "wave port" ??
I cant find any reference to such a thing other than to do with harbours and shipping

car to explain a bit more ?

cheers
Dave
u can see in attachment.. if u have any idea,share with me..
 

Attachments


volker@muehlhaus

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Apr 11, 2014
Messages
2,511
Helped
982
Reputation
1,966
Reaction score
963
Trophy points
113
Activity points
14,883
i want to make arm touch with ground in monopole.
You need a small gap between the radiating arm and ground plane, like in reality. The lumped port is placed in this gap, with (+) connected to one end and (-) on the other end. This is your source, you drive the signal between the bottom end of the raidator and the ground plane.

u can see in attachment.. if u have any idea,share with me..
Sorry, I use other solvers and don't have HFSS.
 

poonam191

Newbie level 3
Joined
Mar 19, 2015
Messages
4
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
22
You need a small gap between the radiating arm and ground plane, like in reality. The lumped port is placed in this gap, with (+) connected to one end and (-) on the other end. This is your source, you drive the signal between the bottom end of the raidator and the ground plane.



Sorry, I use other solvers and don't have HFSS.
can u show me in jpg what u exactly want to tell me? i know we can put lump port between arm and ground but it is possible to put port at the end of ground and make touch to arm and ground?
 

davenn

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jul 1, 2009
Messages
844
Helped
192
Reputation
384
Reaction score
163
Trophy points
1,323
Location
Sydney, Australia
Activity points
6,379
Wave port is useful where you have a plane with multiple conductors. For the monopole, use a lumped port between the radiator and the ground plane.
so what is a wave port ? or is this an obscure name for something more common ?

go a link to info please :)

Dave
 

volker@muehlhaus

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Apr 11, 2014
Messages
2,511
Helped
982
Reputation
1,966
Reaction score
963
Trophy points
113
Activity points
14,883
so what is a wave port ?
It is a technical term from EM simulation. Wave ports, as opposed to lumped ports, define an excitation on a finite area of the simulation boundary, and find the corresponding mode(s). This can be used for hollow waveguides or multi-conductor configurations. Unlike lumped ports, the reference impedance is not fixed, but instead is the impedance of that mode.

- - - Updated - - -

can u show me in jpg what u exactly want to tell me? i know we can put lump port between arm and ground
Ok, then this is what you need to do.

but it is possible to put port at the end of ground and make touch to arm and ground?
I don't understand what you are trying to do. End of ground?
 
  • Like
Reactions: davenn

    davenn

    points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

davenn

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jul 1, 2009
Messages
844
Helped
192
Reputation
384
Reaction score
163
Trophy points
1,323
Location
Sydney, Australia
Activity points
6,379
It is a technical term from EM simulation. Wave ports, as opposed to lumped ports, define an excitation on a finite area of the simulation boundary, and find the corresponding mode(s). This can be used for hollow waveguides or multi-conductor configurations. Unlike lumped ports, the reference impedance is not fixed, but instead is the impedance of that mode.
Ahhh, thanks for that ... not into simulation software
we live and learn :)

Dave
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top