Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

model\sim Vs Active\H\DL

Status
Not open for further replies.

eda_wiz

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Nov 7, 2001
Messages
654
Helped
57
Reputation
114
Reaction score
29
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
6,195
aldec modelsim

hi,
Which is a better choice and why?

I have used both I feel activehdl is more easy to use .
Anyway I would like to know your comments

tnx
 

Phytex

Member level 4
Joined
Dec 16, 2001
Messages
73
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
598
modelsim + stil

Hi,

in my job, I use ModelSim. I don't know very much about Active HDL, but I think if you know something about VHDL or Verilog Modelsim is very easy to use. You have to read how to create testbenches under VHDL or Verilog, then Modelsim is really easy to use!!

Phytex
 

linuxluo

Full Member level 6
Joined
Jul 26, 2002
Messages
331
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,514
modelsim vs activehdl

Hi,
Modelsim is difficult for newbie, and activehdl is easy to master. but as to simulation performace and function, modelsim is stronger than activehdl. And most of all, modelsim is signoff tool, but active is not.
 

snakebites

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Aug 14, 2002
Messages
23
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
CHINA
Activity points
99
modelsim,waveform editor ,key

ActiveHDL is easy for newbie, but I think Modelsim has some special functions.
 

my_garden

Member level 4
Joined
Dec 14, 2001
Messages
79
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
666
I use m/o/d/e/l/s/i/m. It is very good.
It has many good functions.
But it is difficult to learn it.
 

dd2001

Full Member level 4
Joined
Apr 14, 2002
Messages
236
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,912
ActiveDHL good for Newbie

Newbie can spend less time to use ActiveHDL, ver5.1 also easy to use. most small project can be done by ActiveHDL in a very short time. However, ModelSim need a long learn curve, the bad thing is you have to build stimulate table by text editor, that is particularly diffcult for newbie. ActiveHDL create stimulate by timing diagram.
 

Amuro

Full Member level 4
Joined
Mar 15, 2002
Messages
194
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Thailand
Activity points
1,700
You can combine ActiveHDL and ModelSim seamlessly. Just create everything with ActiveHDL and then simulate with ModelSim. It would be better, isn't it?
 

z81203

Full Member level 5
Joined
Aug 1, 2001
Messages
308
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,356
i heard riviera has waveform editor, sometimes it's useful.
 

sisari

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Sep 3, 2001
Messages
26
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
122
Modelsim vs. Active HDL

I think with Modelsim you can do pre and post synthesis simulations (even post-layout) because it allows SDF backannotation.
Active HDL doesn't have this but is better for code-writing than Modelsim
(templates, a more easy to use interface).
 

buzkiller

Member level 4
Joined
Dec 31, 1999
Messages
75
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
602
Active is almost as fast as Modelsim and is much easier to use. It also has many features that Modelsim doesn't. It's equal to Modelsim+HDL Designer.
 

zoovy

Member level 1
Joined
Dec 15, 2002
Messages
41
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
558
Re: Modelsim vs. Active HDL

sisari said:
I think with Modelsim you can do pre and post synthesis simulations (even post-layout) because it allows SDF backannotation.
Active HDL doesn't have this but is better for code-writing than Modelsim
(templates, a more easy to use interface).
I use ActiveHDL and SDF simulation is possible in ActiveHDL.
 

eda_wiz

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Nov 7, 2001
Messages
654
Helped
57
Reputation
114
Reaction score
29
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
6,195
Hi,
Yes SDF simulation is possible in @ctvieHDL and it is faster in simulation speed than Modelsim and has very good features .


But I dont know WHY modelsim is the popular choice for companies. Is it due to the past reputation.

TNX

NB: a simulation with modelsim gui is difficult . When you force a signal high or low all the windows automatically get minimised. consider a case when we are manually giving the inputs.

first we have to apply the reset then relase then asset other pins....
this is difficult with modelsim gui for sure

But in @ctive HDL you have a HOTKEY feature whic allows you to change the signal values from the key board during the simulatio is going on.

I am not using scripts to assert deasset the signals.



EVEN with all this features... STIL M0del\SIM is the popular one whyyyyyyyyyyy
 

zoovy

Member level 1
Joined
Dec 15, 2002
Messages
41
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
558
whizkid said:
Hi,
Yes SDF simulation is possible in @ctvieHDL and it is faster in simulation speed than Modelsim and has very good features .



EVEN with all this features... STIL M0del\SIM is the popular one whyyyyyyyyyyy
I think there are numerous reasons
1) Modelsim was the first in the market.
2) People familiar with Asic world used to use Modelsim.
3) Recent divorce of Xilinx<->Aldec caused more grief. Modelsim can be executed inside the Xilinx tools. Aldec's approach was to build a shell to run xilinx tools inside Aldec environment. But it costed them to play catchup. When a version of Xilinx tools comes up Aldec is 3 months behind in supporting it.
4) Modelsim is more expensive. Therefore people think they get more when they pay more.
5) The misinformation and/or no-information but guesswork is in play as sisari wrote. (I don't mean to offend you sisari). Sometimes this is also half-true too. Maybe some point in time Aldec really did not support this feature or this feature was very difficult/awkward to use.

When making decision, I usually do an analysis at the time (checkpoint analysis). I don't ususally track what happened after I do my decision. Therefore my information about the subject gets old after some time.
 

rguo

Newbie level 4
Joined
Apr 25, 2001
Messages
7
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
China
Activity points
10
My opinion is FPGA advantage is the counterpart to active hdl, which includes design entry, simulation and synthesis together by bundling hdl designer, model sim and leonardo, and also more powerful than active hdl.

rguo
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top