Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Microstrip Transmission Line

Status
Not open for further replies.

rxb

Newbie level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello,

Let me preface this with saying I have no formal training in microwave transmission lines. Everything I know, which is not much, is self taught. I was tasked with creating a microstripline for the purposes of carrying a field in the 500 - 2000MHz range. Our goal is to use the lateral H-field produced by the line to drive small micromagnetic structures deposited on top of the line.

To design the line I've mostly relied on "Handbook of Microwave Integrated Circuits" by Reinmut K. Hoffmann and the design equations available in that book since I do not have access to an adequate EM simulation program. For impedance matching at 50ohms I used the equations by Hammerstad and Jensen. The line is very thin, only 100 nm of gold, so thickness corrections were insignificant. I am also not planning on going above 2GHz so dispersion did not seem like an issue either. I had to add two 90 degree bends which I mitered according to the specifications in that book. For the substrate I am using 0.5mm crystal sapphire. I also had to add a taper to reduce the width of the line to about 10um to get a strong enough H-field above the line. For the taper I followed paper "A Transmission Line Taper of Improved Design" by R. W. Klopfenstein. I made the taper as long as I could (1.5cm) to try and reduce the reflection at that low frequency I want to operate in.