Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Microblaze + Fuzzy Processor to Robot interface!

Status
Not open for further replies.

FuzzySNR

Member level 2
Joined
Oct 3, 2005
Messages
47
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,688
picoblaze lab

Hello all,

A little bit of history first....
I have designed a soft core fast fuzzy processor (Published work) in vhdl and implemented in a Spartan 3-1500 FPGA using Memec MB1500 board(+P160 analog board).
Now....
What I want do is interface it with a lab robot to run a tracker algorithm for obstacle avoidance. The problem is that I don't have direct access on the robot's motors and encoders to hard-wire it with the fpga board directly, but only the serial port on the robot itself, hence I have to treat the robot as a black box. So, I though of using Microblaze with a UART core and somehow(C code to decode-encode robot data packets) decode the packets from the robot's serial port to feed my fuzzy controller with the encoder data and also send data to the robot (motors) as well. Up to now, I have a very rough idea of how to do that but cannot realy figure out where and how to connect the microblaze (through the OPB bus maybe??) with the fuzzy processor to exchange data.
Any ideas, help, or other possible workarounds not necessarily using Microblaze (could use Picoblaze possibly which is FREE!) are welcomed and kindly appreciated!
 

yego

Full Member level 3
Joined
Oct 28, 2004
Messages
161
Helped
18
Reputation
36
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Middle of Nowhere
Activity points
1,840
Your Fuzzy processor can be attached easily via the FSL interface to the MB.
This interface has many useful features and has been incorporated in the MB to interface to coprocessors.
The link is fast, easy to handle and there are up to eight channels available.

Read the DS449 available on the Xilinx website.

Regards , Yego
 

    FuzzySNR

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

samcheetah

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
May 25, 2004
Messages
646
Helped
39
Reputation
78
Reaction score
10
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Pakistan
Activity points
6,916
why not just use the UART core that comes with Picoblaze? how about that?
 

FuzzySNR

Member level 2
Joined
Oct 3, 2005
Messages
47
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,688
samcheetah said:
why not just use the UART core that comes with Picoblaze? how about that?

Well yes, obviously I will use the UART core (Microblaze or Picoblaze), no doubt about that. How about the FSL bus? Is it availble in the Picoblaze architecture, or I have to interface my FP with the Picoblaze using a diiferent bus protocol? Any ideas?
 

samcheetah

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
May 25, 2004
Messages
646
Helped
39
Reputation
78
Reaction score
10
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Pakistan
Activity points
6,916
the picoblaze microcontroller doesnt have the FSL bus. it has 256 input ports and 256 output ports, maybe that will help!

actually i was saying that why dont you just connect a UART with your fuzzy processor? i mean no picoblaze or microblaze involved.
 

FuzzySNR

Member level 2
Joined
Oct 3, 2005
Messages
47
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,688
Reasonable question, actually that was my original idea, but then again I need some sort of microcontroller for the path planning part which is easier to code in C rather than realize it in RTL, Besides if I implement the pp in VHDL, I'll end up implementing a microcontroller at the end of the day!
 

samcheetah

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
May 25, 2004
Messages
646
Helped
39
Reputation
78
Reaction score
10
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Pakistan
Activity points
6,916
okay, but xilinx doesnt provide a C compiler for picoblaze. and there is one C compiler for picoblaze (in its beta stage) but i havent tested it yet.

but microblaze does have a C compiler so i think you should use microblaze.
 

    FuzzySNR

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

FuzzySNR

Member level 2
Joined
Oct 3, 2005
Messages
47
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,688
Hhmm, better safe than sorry...I think MB too.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top