Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] Max488 schematic from rs232

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rohith_elec

Full Member level 4
Joined
Dec 16, 2011
Messages
198
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Activity points
2,470
Where can I get the schematic for Max488 from RS232?
 

betwixt

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 4, 2009
Messages
15,169
Helped
4,948
Reputation
9,917
Reaction score
4,764
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Aberdyfi, West Wales, UK
Activity points
128,853
MAX488 is an RS422/485 transceiver, it isn't compatible with RS232.
If you want to convert from one to the other you need an interface for both standards connected together:

RS232 ----> MAX232 ----> MAX488 ----> RS-422 (or 485)
RS422 (or 485) ----> MAX488 ----> MAX232 ----> RS232

The schematics are all on the data sheets, you just link the TTL level signals from one IC to the other.

Brian.
 

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
20,557
Helped
4,463
Reputation
8,935
Reaction score
4,501
Trophy points
1,393
Activity points
135,885
Hi,

If you look for Max488 schematics you should look for the datasheet at www.maximintegrated.com.

For informations on RS232 you could look at wikipedia.

If you read both, then you will find out that there is a mismatch.

Klaus
 

Rohith_elec

Full Member level 4
Joined
Dec 16, 2011
Messages
198
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Activity points
2,470
Ok, so thanks for the replies, so need a max485 and max488 chip in the board
 

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
20,557
Helped
4,463
Reputation
8,935
Reaction score
4,501
Trophy points
1,393
Activity points
135,885
Hi,

Now you can read both datasheets and find out that both are not RS232.
And even if you don't want RS232, then I doubt to use both Max485 and Max488 makes sense.

If you need help, then please post full information.

Klaus
 

Rohith_elec

Full Member level 4
Joined
Dec 16, 2011
Messages
198
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Activity points
2,470
I just require a full duplex RS485 interfaced from USB, so I thought to convert to RS232 and then RS485....
 

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
20,557
Helped
4,463
Reputation
8,935
Reaction score
4,501
Trophy points
1,393
Activity points
135,885
Hi,

now you speak of three different systems.

Even more confusing.


Klaus
 

Rohith_elec

Full Member level 4
Joined
Dec 16, 2011
Messages
198
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Activity points
2,470
Sorry for confusing,
MY project is actually a good full duplex RS485 module, which can be interfaced from USB
At first I thought of designing from usb to rs232 and then to rs485
By valuable inputs from here, I learned different things

will learn more and get back to this thread again....
 

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
20,557
Helped
4,463
Reputation
8,935
Reaction score
4,501
Trophy points
1,393
Activity points
135,885
Hi,

do you know about google?

if you need one side to be USB and the other side to be RS485 then: (please forget about RS232)
google for "USB RS495 schematic".

Then you will find a lot schematics and you find ready to buy modules. What else do you need?

Klaus
 

Rohith_elec

Full Member level 4
Joined
Dec 16, 2011
Messages
198
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Activity points
2,470
They are all half duplex ones, needs full duplex ones

- - - Updated - - -

yes, finally got it
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top