Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Matlab: Some questions about analysing plot data

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobertL

Newbie level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi all,

I'm new here and I'm also fairly new to Matlab. I have to analyse some data that I've retrieved during experiments for my Master's thesis.

Picture: raw data
file.php (561×420) | Awesome Screenshot

The data I'm talking about here is the moment in time (on the x-axis) versus speed (y-axis). Because of the instruments I use to measure, the data is somewhat unprecise so I need some filtering. It's no problem for me to write something to take several points to determine an average value (see figure below, taken over 10 points) but this figure is still not what I need to take conclusions. (And I think it's even better to filter with a high or lowpass filter, but I don't (yet) know how to do this in Matlab).

file.php (561×420) | Awesome Screenshot

I allready thought of some ways to analyse my data:

- One hypothesis of mine is: if participants are better in the grasping task, they need less 'bumps' to reach the target in my experiment (they already reach it in one arm movement). So, I have to do something like a regression analysis on the filtered data. That's something like: "Do I need a cubic, quartic, quintic, sextic, septic or octic polynomial to describe the outcome best? When isn't the polynomial's fit improving significantly anymore?"