Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Matlab newbie, I need help with fft of sin/cos functions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dexter2011

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi all!

I am a complete Matlab newbie. I have an assignment to complete in Matlab, and I am having some, what I am sure, are elementary difficulties. My assignment is using the Fourier Transform function. Here are the instructions:

1. Generate the following functions:
y1(t)=2*sin(2*pi*1*t)+4*sin(2*pi*2*t)+3*sin(2*pi*4*t)
y2(t)=2*cos(2*pi*1*t)+4*cos(2*pi*2*t)+3*cos(2*pi*4*t)

2. First, required by sampling theorem, the step size of t (delta t) has to be smaller than a value. Figure out this value and set delta t at least 3 times smaller than this value and calculate y1(t) and y2(t).

3. Calculate Fourier Transform (fft) of y1 and y2 and plot your results using frequency as the x axis and amplitude as the y axis. Plot the phase also.
Given:
f=[0:1/length(y1):1/2]*(1/delta t)
plot(f,abs(y1(1:length(f)))'-*')

...Ok, as for #1 and 2, I think I know how to get the delta t. I am not sure how to define time. I have searched the web and found several similar but differing functions: t=(0:n-1)*(1/fs); t=(0:1/fs:n); etc. Where do I get the n? Which equation do I use?

And for #3, I am not sure how to define frequency. Again, I have found several functions differing slightly. For example in the given frequency equation, what is the length(y1)? Why is frequency defined from 0 to 1/2...where does the 1/2 come from? And where do I get the length(f)?