Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Low Duty Cycle with 555 Timer

Status
Not open for further replies.

TroyDowling

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hey there, this is my first post here and I'm also just a hobbyist with electronics, so bear with me if I'm coming across as a complete newbie. Here's my situation: I'm trying to mimic the way an LED flashes on an automobile engine immobilizer. It flashes once every five seconds or so, and only for only a fraction of a second. I understand that for the most part, a timer such as the NE555 cannot have a duty cycle of less than 50% but I have found this resource that says it is in fact possible. The only problem I have then, is that the low time between the pulses is very short! The LED would blink at a very high frequency that way. My question is, what resistor/capacitor combo would allow me to have a low time of about 5s and a high time of one-tenth a second (approximately) for every cycle? Or, if there is a completely different way I could do this, what would that be? I'm trying to keep this simple and inexpensive because it's just a gag-gift for a friend who's obsessed with his car. :roll: Thanks in advance!

Try to do something like this:
Connect the LED between the output (pin3) and +Vcc .. see attached picture => LED1
It’s like reversing the output wave ..
When the output is H the LED will do nothing but when the output is L the LED will be on ..

Time High = 0.69 C (R1+R2) =5s
Time Low = 0.69 C R2 =0.1s

For example:
C=150uF
R1=49k
R2=1k

Rgds,
IanP

Attachments

• led-flasher-555_2032.gif
    led-flasher-555_2032.gif
    8.4 KB · Views: 267