Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Looking for replacement of Teccors L200X to drive a triac

Status
Not open for further replies.

Elavionic

Member level 5
Joined
Apr 6, 2002
Messages
87
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Portugal
Activity points
1,011
Triac and µC

I'm using a PIC12f508 for a small project. At current time i'm using a moc3041 (optotriac with zero cross) to drive a triac (BTA600-08). My plan is to remove the opto. I know that are some logic level triac or sensitive gate triac. I already had a sample code for zero crossing detection.
I find L200X from Teccor an excelent choise but they are hard to find, so i'm looking for others.
Thus anyone ever worked with one of this?
If so wich one?
Can you give me some examples?
Thanks in advance.
 

flatulent

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jul 19, 2002
Messages
4,629
Helped
489
Reputation
980
Reaction score
150
Trophy points
1,343
Location
Middle Earth
Activity points
46,689
Re: Triac and µC

There are some serious safety and legal issues you will face by not being opto isolated or other type of isolation. One way around these is if your entire controlling and switching circuit are enclosed in a double insulated box.
 

Elavionic

Member level 5
Joined
Apr 6, 2002
Messages
87
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Portugal
Activity points
1,011
Re: Triac and µC

I know that isn't safe but thats no problem. The enclosure is plastic with IP67 protection. The power supply is very simple ( no transformer based) so all the circuit isn´t isolated, and for that reason i don't need an optotriac (reduces project costs).
 

aNdreiBuuu

Full Member level 4
Joined
Apr 30, 2001
Messages
223
Helped
25
Reputation
50
Reaction score
12
Trophy points
1,298
Location
moon
Activity points
1,811
Re: Triac and µC

The power supply is very simple ( no transformer based) so all the circuit isn´t isolated, and for that reason i don't need an optotriac (reduces project costs).

There is another problem... the gate current must be over 50mA... for opto diac the command curent is reduced to 5-10mA. Your power source is enough to supply energy for your board?

hope this help,
//a
 

rauol

Full Member level 6
Joined
Oct 2, 2002
Messages
325
Helped
16
Reputation
32
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,298
Location
India
Activity points
2,647
Re: Triac and µC

one more problem with direct driving,
if the Triac or its associated component fails your µC can get damaged.
 

maranaza

Member level 2
Joined
Mar 27, 2002
Messages
49
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
351
Re: Triac and µC

I could't read from your post full part number, so I don't know the rated current of your triac. If it is not too high, you can get sensitive gate version from Phillips or ST. You can drive 10 or 16 A sens. gate triac from uC. If you have spare uC pins, connect them in parallel to drive the triac.

maranaza
 

Elavionic

Member level 5
Joined
Apr 6, 2002
Messages
87
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Portugal
Activity points
1,011
Re: Triac and µC

Thank you all for the tips. I find, at ST, some sensitive triacs with only 5 to 10 mA gate current for load up to 10A, more then enought for me. When i make it work i'll post the schematic.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top