Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Looking for information on how to bias a VCO ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

sapphire

Member level 3
Joined
Nov 13, 2004
Messages
66
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
440
how to bias VCO

Hi Guys,

I am designing a CMOS LC VCO at 5GHz. The VCO is powered by 1.8V. And I biased the gate voltage of tail current transistor directly using a power supply(say 1.1V). When the chip come back, the measurement shows it can oscillate at right frequency but the phase noise performance is pretty poor. The 1MHz offset has a PN of -70dBc/Hz, while the simulation gives almost -130dBc/Hz. I guess it's a problem with the biasing. Then I re-simulated the VCO again in ADS with a 1uV V_Noise componenet in series with each power supplies, and it shows a 1MHz PN performance of around -70dBc/Hz. I want to know how the VCO is biasing ususally? Do I need to build a biasing network and using current mirror structure? Is there any useful link for a quick review? Thanks a lot in advance!

Ed
 

springf2000

Full Member level 6
Joined
Jun 13, 2004
Messages
381
Helped
20
Reputation
40
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,500
Re: how to bias VCO

using the inductor as the feed network and the decouper capacitor is more important too!
 

hrkhari

Full Member level 4
Joined
Mar 4, 2004
Messages
223
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,250
Re: how to bias VCO

Since a VCO is an autonomous device, I preassume the biasing in issue is the open drain buffer interface of the VCO, if I'm right, I had used a BGR circuit to bias the buffer.

Rgds
 

neoflash

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Jul 2, 2005
Messages
492
Helped
10
Reputation
20
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
4,759
how to bias VCO

Your VCO's PSRR is too poor.

You can not directly bias the N-tail device by connecting it to power, instead, you need a Bandgap to bias it.

I am sorry to say that you chip will never work well. I guess there is no way to save it other than tape it out again...
 

lctlcm

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Aug 28, 2001
Messages
28
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
188
Re: how to bias VCO

Hi, sapphire

We tape-out LC VCO without BangGap biasing circuit and we have no problem with the phase noise. However, we use current mirrors instead of direct voltage bias.

If it is ready the biasing problem, try using a dry-cell battery to bias the VCO, it is much more stable & cleaner than the power supply.

cheers.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top