Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Looking for circuit that converts duty cycle to voltage

Status
Not open for further replies.

masterx81

Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
duty cycle to voltage

Hi to all...
I'm a beginner and I need a simple circuit that convert a signal of 150hz with variable duty cycle (from 0 to 100%) to a constant voltage proportional to the duty cycle...
I have tryed to find in internet, and I think that I need a lc filter (i am not sure...) , but I not say how calculate the values of the components...

Thanks to all!!!

constant voltage duty cycle

Use a R and C combination. R in serial, C in parallel with your load. I think this is the simplest form.

convert duty cycle to voltage

hill said:
Use a R and C combination. R in serial, C in parallel with your load. I think this is the simplest form.

ok...
mmm... How i can calculate the exact value of the resistor and capacitor?
After the rc I think that i need also a transistor (because the load do not discharge the capacitor before the time), right?

Re: Duty cycle to voltage...

It depends on your load resistance.
Depends also on the output ripple than can be tolerated.
What is the signal source?Can it supply enough current to the load or should it be amplified beforehand?
Give some details.

This sounds like a what is used in a chopper. Can you be more specific about the input waveform? If you look on the net for "chopper circuit" you'll find some stuff!