Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Looking for a small transistor tester circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

shellcode

Junior Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi. I'm looking for a small transistor tester circuit. All it should do is tell if a transistor is PNP, NPN, and whether it works or not. Since I'm a beginner this should be very simple. Thanks.

Re: Transistor Tester

Thanks for the reply.

http://www.discovercircuits.com/PDF-FILES/xistrtst.pdf
I had already found this one. The problem is that it does not say that values of the elements. For example next to the capacitor it says 0.047. Is this in picofarads, nanofarads, microfarads, farads...? Also, I prefer an LED to light up rather than a speaker to sound when testing the transistor.

**broken link removed**
This one is too complicated. I don't need gain and whatnot to be tested.

**broken link removed**
**broken link removed**
This one looks perfect. Simple and effective. One problem though:
1. I don't have a 100nF capacitor. I have a whole value pack of electrolytic capacitors and ceramic capacitors but none of these is 100nF (and I don't think that an electrolytic will work). What kind of capacitor is 100nF? Mylar, something else?

Thanks.

These capacitors do not need to have exactly 100nF. Also, check your ceramic caps if you don't have any laballed 104 (it is code for 100nF capacitance, 103 will be 10nF, 105 is 1µF, etc). In most cases 100nF capacitor is a ceramic cap, but you can find tantalum, polyester, polypropylene and other types.