Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Linearization techniques in Razavi <Design of Analog CMOS Integrated Circuits> Ch13

Status
Not open for further replies.

fightshan

Junior Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Linearization techniques in Razavi <Design of Analog CMOS Integrated Circuits> Ch13

I am studying a high speed Track&Hold circuits in a high speed F/I ADC. In the T&H circuit , there are two buffers ,the input_buffer to isloate kickback noise and the output_buffer to supply an appropriate driving ability for the ADC core.
I select a NMOS source follower as the input_buffer, and a unit_gain op_amp which works in open loop state as the output_buffer.
The problem I meet now is the bad linearity of output buffer. In the Chapter13 of <Design of Analog CMOS Integrated Circuits> written by Razavi, a linearization technique called "post_correction" is introduced by Razavi, I am interested in this structure, but there is just a small section of this in the chapter ,and Razavi didn`t mention any reference. So, I wonder anyone can give more information about this "post_correction" tech?
I really appreciate anyone can discuss this with me!
1.png
2.png
3.png

Re: Linearization techniques in Razavi <Design of Analog CMOS Integrated Circuits> Ch

... a unit_gain op_amp which works in open loop state as the output_buffer.
Is it a unity_gain op_amp? Such op_amps usually are closed loop op_amps with full feedBack, or perhaps it is a near-unity_gain op_amp, perhaps a source-follower like your input buffer? If it's the latter, why not use the linearization circuit like Figure 13.16 (c)?