Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

[SOLVED] Lenovo laptop problem during installing LINUX OS

victorjohn9211

Newbie level 4
Joined
Jun 24, 2019
Messages
7
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Location
Erina NSW
Activity points
79
Hi, I'm using Lenovo, when I try to install Linux my laptop got stuck after I switched it off and on. it's not working, all lights up but the screen is blank, CPU fan is running 3 sec only, can anyone help me with this, please.
 

BradtheRad

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 1, 2011
Messages
13,422
Helped
2,653
Reputation
5,300
Reaction score
2,559
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Activity points
100,374
I once installed Linux on my Compaq laptop (to a re-formatted hd). Things worked to the point where I saw the desktop open and appeared normal. However it froze when I tried to open any application. I had to fall back to Win XP.

Message boards spoke of needing correct Linux drivers for all devices in a computer. I took that to be a plausible explanation for my lack of success. However I didn't see a way to add drivers to the install CD after burning the ISO file.
Your installation might work if you can figure out what drivers you need, and add them during the install process.
 

fourtytwo

Member level 4
Joined
Jun 1, 2017
Messages
73
Helped
15
Reputation
30
Reaction score
15
Trophy points
8
Location
near the sea
Activity points
733
Hi, I'm using Lenovo, when I try to install Linux my laptop got stuck after I switched it off and on. it's not working, all lights up but the screen is blank, CPU fan is running 3 sec only, can anyone help me with this, please.
What Distro exactly are you using and what is the media, what is the model of laptop, how much memory, what sort of storage etc etc!!
 

betwixt

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 4, 2009
Messages
14,108
Helped
4,674
Reputation
9,362
Reaction score
4,414
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Aberdyfi, West Wales, UK
Activity points
120,567
Agreed - lots more information needed. I have only once seen this happen and it was due to a UEFI 'lock' in the BIOS that prevented anything but Windows being installed. It took some defeating but I got it working in the end. If the BIOS has a setting to use legacy mode rather than UEFI it would be a good place to start looking. All modern Linux versions are UEFI aware and quite happy to use it but some hardware manufacturers have agreements with MS to prevent other OS being installed easily so they deliberately block the boot process even though the installation appears to have worked.

Brian.
 

c_mitra

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Nov 13, 2012
Messages
3,367
Helped
846
Reputation
1,692
Reaction score
797
Trophy points
1,393
Activity points
25,730
Modern linux is quite robust: did your installation went through all right?

Please mention the specific distribution of Linux you are using. Those forums can provide more fine grained response.
 

dick_freebird

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Mar 4, 2008
Messages
6,714
Helped
1,980
Reputation
3,964
Reaction score
1,798
Trophy points
1,393
Location
USA
Activity points
53,839
Some distros are much more helpful / forgiving than others.
Ubuntu worked out pretty well for me, on a Dell which has
a near-orphan GPU. Red Hat / CentOS, I could never get
the display right on.

Seems like the "easy" installs want to set you up with the
desktop / GUI interface on boot. That's not going to work
out well if you don't have (that is, the distro doesn't) a
good handle on the hardware. If you are looking at a
custom or just don't-have-drivers situation, setting up
for a console mode, enter-GUI-by-command old school
Linux environment may be a better bet. This option may
take some figuring out, I haven't seen it presented as
an option lately myself.
 

mariah1902

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Oct 27, 2019
Messages
18
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Location
Bangladesh
Activity points
188
Maybe your linux software was corrupted or something. Sometimes if all the files are not there in the software our laptops as it had already formatted the last os does not know how to run.
 

Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search


Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Sponsor

Design Fast


×
Top