Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

learning camera controller commands

Status
Not open for further replies.

jozee

Newbie level 4
Joined
Dec 9, 2011
Messages
6
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,320
Hi,
I have a video camera with a cabled remote which controls the camera iris, colors etc...
I want to learn the command sent by the remote into the camera.
Here is what i did so far:

First try:
1. bought 232Analyzer software
2. cut the remote cable and discover (through manual) the correct data wires (TX+, TX-, RX+, RX-)
3. connected the TX+ and TX- into my serial port [pins 2+ and 5-]
4. set the port settings (which i do not know them) to 9600, 8 databits, none, stop=1
5. turned everything on and start operating the remote.

The results in HEX was only a bunch of FF's, no matter which button i clicked the result was FF.


Second try:

1. bought 422 to 232 adapter
2. bought 485 to 232 adapter
3. tried the test with each adapter

same results, only FF

:(
Here are some images :
SERIAL1.jpg
SERIAL2.jpg

Please help, I'm really stacked
 

Pha5e

Full Member level 1
Joined
Dec 9, 2011
Messages
95
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,288
Location
I am not here - it's an illusion
Activity points
1,893
You may need to adjust your baud rate or sampling rate. You will need to look up details of the control type. If it is Sony, it will be LANC (Control-L). I think Panasonic use Control-M?
 

jozee

Newbie level 4
Joined
Dec 9, 2011
Messages
6
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,320
Thanks for your reply,
I've tried almost every combination of Baudrates, DataBits, StopBits ans parity possible,
I've got the exact same results every time.

What are "Control-L" And "Control-M"?
 

jozee

Newbie level 4
Joined
Dec 9, 2011
Messages
6
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,320
You may need a null MODEM configuration.

Have you tried tieing the two transmit lines on the PC serial connection together?

No i didnt, What do you mean by that?
 

jozee

Newbie level 4
Joined
Dec 9, 2011
Messages
6
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,320
The pc serial port ha common ground. ii've tied TX (pin 3) and ground (pin 5), the results are the same :(
is there any possibility that this remote cannot be read by pc port and 232anlyzer?
maybe there is some hidden or unknown data?
 

Pha5e

Full Member level 1
Joined
Dec 9, 2011
Messages
95
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,288
Location
I am not here - it's an illusion
Activity points
1,893
In your diagram, you have the +TX and -TX of the serial port connecting to the +RX and -RX on the 422 to 232 converter. I do not see the ground?

Are you using 422 to tap off the camera control.

Have you found out which protocol your camera uses? You will need to read up about the data stream.
 

jozee

Newbie level 4
Joined
Dec 9, 2011
Messages
6
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,320
what if i dont know the protocol?
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top