Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Large voltage drop in MOSFET

Status
Not open for further replies.

zhiling0229

Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi guys,

I'm rather new in power switching circuits.

I'm using a IRF 640 N-channel mosfet with the drain connected to approximately 9 V and the source to the load. I'm using the MOSFET as a switch to turn on my power supply using a microcontroller this power supply will be fed into a 5V regulator and a 3.3 V regulator.

I have a few problems.

The voltage drop I measure is approximately 1.6 V which drops to about 7.4 V. I'm worried that it is not enough to regulate my regulator at 5V.

Is there any other way to do it instead of using IGBT cause IGBT is really expensive.

I look in the datasheet the Vgs that was written was min 2V to max 4V does this means that I only can send a pulse to the gate in this range? Or can I send a 5V logic pulse to it?

Thanks a lot :)

What kind of Vgs do you have on your MOSFET? Is it fully turned on? To turn on the MOSFET fully and have low Rdson, you need to have Vgs be something like 10V or so.
Since you have your MOSFET on the high-side, you need to make sure that the voltage that you see at the gate is about 20V with respect to ground. This is assuming that you have low voltage drop across the MOSFET and the voltage at the source is around 9V, then the 20V at the gate would give you 11V of Vgs. You might need a high-side MOSFET driver to give you the boost needed for the gate. Something like an IR21xx should do.

Do a search on "high-side MOSFET" and "high-side MOSFET gate drive"

Best regards,
v_c