Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Keysight ADS: export S21 to touchstone (as .s1p) from .s2p file

a-helwig

Newbie
Joined
Jun 30, 2020
Messages
4
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
32
Hello Experts,

I hope someone can help here. I'm doing simulation with ADS and as a result .s2p file is generated. For another simulation I need only S21 parameter from previous simulation and this needs to be also touchstone file format (.s1p). Any idea how to do this?
I can not find any obvious/simple way in ADS

best regards

Adrian
 

BigBoss

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Nov 17, 2001
Messages
4,697
Helped
1,423
Reputation
2,844
Reaction score
1,288
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Turkey
Activity points
28,395
First, .s1p is a One Port Touchstone Format suffix.. .s2p Two Port so on..
Whichever parameter ( \[ Sxx \] or \[ Sxy \] )you're interested in, organize your simulation set-up in according to that..
 

a-helwig

Newbie
Joined
Jun 30, 2020
Messages
4
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
32
Thanks, but can You please practicaly explain how to do this?
From the two port file .s2p I need only S21 because this represents Z(f) of the structure for which I need to generate Spice model.
The spice model generator needs .s1p file.
What Do You mean with organize simulation setup?
 

volker@muehlhaus

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Apr 11, 2014
Messages
2,445
Helped
970
Reputation
1,940
Reaction score
948
Trophy points
113
Activity points
14,524
Adrian, your approach might be wrong.

If you want to connect the 2-port device using a single port, you can use a connection like this:

oneport.jpg






That result is useful, but different from using the S21 values.

I suspect that your are working on something like this:
https://muehlhaus.com/support/ads-application-notes/inductor-em-ports

Good luck!
Volker
 

BigBoss

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Nov 17, 2001
Messages
4,697
Helped
1,423
Reputation
2,844
Reaction score
1,288
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Turkey
Activity points
28,395
Thanks, but can You please practicaly explain how to do this?
From the two port file .s2p I need only S21 because this represents Z(f) of the structure for which I need to generate Spice model.
The spice model generator needs .s1p file.
What Do You mean with organize simulation setup?
I couldn't understand your intention.Draw a simple sketch here to understand..
 

a-helwig

Newbie
Joined
Jun 30, 2020
Messages
4
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
32
Adrian, your approach might be wrong.

If you want to connect the 2-port device using a single port, you can use a connection like this:

View attachment 162608






That result is useful, but different from using the S21 values.

I suspect that your are working on something like this:
https://muehlhaus.com/support/ads-application-notes/inductor-em-ports

Good luck!
Volker
Thanks Volker,

I'm simply looking fro possibility to extract only S21 data from .s2p file.
This is how my s2p file is looking at the beginning:

! Created Wed Jul 1 10:37:39 2020
# hz S ma R 50
! 2 Port Network Data from SP1.SP block
! freq magS11 angS11 magS21 angS21 magS12 angS12 magS22 angS22
!
1000 0.97347808 -166.857169 0.227379574 -76.7744724 0.227379574 -76.7744724 0.97347808 -166.857169
11000 0.999436631 -178.783965 0.0212249074 -87.871099 0.0212249074 -87.871099 0.999436631 -178.783965
.....

from this touchstone file I need to to create another touchstone file (in this case .s1p), but with only S21 data (means columns 4 and 5)
I cannot find any simple solution to that

any ideas?
--- Updated ---

I couldn't understand your intention.Draw a simple sketch here to understand..
I'm using SPOutput block to write the simulation data into touchstone file
My simulation is using 2 terminations, this means .s2p-file is generated with S11, S21, S12, S22
From this file (or using another trick) I need to extract only S21 column and also save it in touchstone file (as .s1p-file)
I cannot find simple way to do this

regards

Adrian
 
Last edited:

volker@muehlhaus

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Apr 11, 2014
Messages
2,445
Helped
970
Reputation
1,940
Reaction score
948
Trophy points
113
Activity points
14,524
from this touchstone file I need to to create another touchstone file (in this case .s1p), but with only S21 data (means columns 4 and 5)
I cannot find any simple solution to that
I would use a text editor then, to remove the other columns. Textpad supports such "block mode" operations.
 

a-helwig

Newbie
Joined
Jun 30, 2020
Messages
4
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
32
Thanks, yes sure I also thought about this, but is there really no option in such a big software like ADS to manipulate touchstone data?
Just wondering...
 

Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search


Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Sponsor

Design Fast


×
Top