Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Issues with HP4396B Network Analyzer

Status
Not open for further replies.

twomilimeter

Newbie level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
HP4396B Network Analyzer

Hi,

I am just beginning to use a network analyzer.
The model is HP 4396B network/spectrum analyzer.
I started by trying to measure the input power at the R and B channel by changing the RF power source.
The RF source, R and B channel are connected to a two way power splitter. The setup is shown below.
NetworkOutputtoRandBChannel.jpg

I set the "meas" button to B to measure the power on the B channel and "meas" to R to measure the input power to the R channel.
The relationship of the output power from the RF source with the measured input power to the B channel are shown below.
RelationsbetweenRFpowersourceandinp.jpg

I am a little confuse here. Why does the measured power at the R or B channel is larger than the RF power source?
For e.g., when the RF power source was set to -10dBm, I am measuring -15dB. Is -15dB the input power at the R or B channel or I have mistakenly understand the unit?

Secondly, I try to measure the response of a RC circuit with 50 ohm input and output terminated with R = 100ohm and C = 10pF. The 3dB roll off should be ~1.5MHz.
I set the "meas" channel to "B/R" and later to "B".
The setup, measured gain and phase are as shown below.
**broken link removed**
RC Setup

MagB.jpg

Gain with "meas" set to "B"

PhaseB.jpg

Phase with "meas" set to "B"

Why does the phase always change from -180 to 180? What does the phase indicate when the "meas" is set to "B/R" and "B" only?

Kindly advise.