Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Is xilinx infer arrays used in code to BRAM or DRAM?

Status
Not open for further replies.

naz56

Member level 3
Joined
Jun 25, 2009
Messages
54
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,698
bram xilinx

HELLO,

when arrays are used in code then XST maps it to where by default?? into Block RAM? or into Distributed RAM?a big confusion...

difference between Block RAM and Distributed RAM?
help

regards
 

palai_santosh

Member level 1
Joined
Apr 13, 2007
Messages
39
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,541
it entirely depends on the size of the array and the coding style sometime.
Block ram is the dedicated ram blocks inside the fpga.
Distributed ram is basically using those Luts,SRL16 and flops in the CLBs.
block ram can operate faster than the distributed ram.
 

naz56

Member level 3
Joined
Jun 25, 2009
Messages
54
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,698
size of the array? explain...
 

devas

Full Member level 2
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
129
Helped
42
Reputation
84
Reaction score
11
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,004
Hi,

A small RAM (small array size) is mostly targeted to Distributed RAM. A large RAM (large array size) is mostly targeted to Block RAM.

The trade off is probably a few hundred bits but depends also on your coding style and your target device.

Devas
 

naz56

Member level 3
Joined
Jun 25, 2009
Messages
54
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,698
thanx to all above ppl :)
 

omara007

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jan 6, 2003
Messages
1,238
Helped
50
Reputation
102
Reaction score
16
Trophy points
1,318
Location
Cairo/Egypt
Activity points
9,747
I noticed that relatively big register arrays do take very long synthesis time .. for me, I was synthesizing an array of 32deepX42bits and it took me 5 hours (mainly consumed in the optimization phase !!) .. any reason for that ?
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top