Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] Is there any limitation in fan-in of CMOS buffer

Status
Not open for further replies.

Prakash12345

Junior Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
How to increase fanout of CMOS buffer

Hi,
I'm new to online forum. I want to interface 74HC541(Buffer) to 74HC574(D-f/f). The thing is 100's of D-f/f parallel interface as shown in figure(Fig.1).
Input and load capacitance limits it to 10 to 15 fanout. Fanout of buffer current wants to charge input capacitance of D-f/f. So increasing D-f/f increases charge time of input capacitance.
My question is this can be overcome by giving more current to increase charge current to input capacitance by adding pullup resistor to input of D-f/f(Fig.2) or BJT emitter follower(Fig.3).
This would correct or not. fanout.jpg

Re: How to increase fanout of CMOS buffer

CMOS IO standard has no fixed fan-out limit. Everything depends on required speed. You should also consider wiring/PCB capacitance, it is possibly higher than logic input capacitance. I also presume that "100's" of paralleled interfaces involve a considerable wire length and you need to think about distributed buffers.

Your suggested solutions are just useless or even making signal quality worse. If necessary use multiple cascaded bus buffers, e.g. HC541.

How many inputs can be connected to input pin of 74HC541(Buffer). Whether it related to current or voltage or capacitance or timing. Please give me fan-in calculation of CMOS-CMOS interface.

Hi,

Input to input?