Inverting Amplifier is clipping the output signal - Help?

Status
Not open for further replies.

chemical25

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi all,

I am working out a way to invert & amplify a signal output from a photomultiplier tube. The signal output is varying negative pulses from 0v to -1v.

I would like to invert that signal & amplify it x10 for later reading with an ADC. I thought it would be a simple inverting amplifier circuit with an OpAmp, but I cannot seem to get it to perform correctly.

With my circuit, while the signal is inverted and the pulses seem to be amplified, the peaks are "flat-topped" and won't go above ~300mv (see Figure 1). I originally thought it was an issue with the slew rate/bandwidth of the OpAmp I was using, so I just received some ultra-fast LM7171 OpAmps (datasheet linked below), yet I am still seeing similar behavior.

Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong? I am new to the finer aspects of analog design, as I am usually working on digital circuits - I have seen some notes on "input capacitance" and "input impedance," but I do not know if those are the root of my issue... or how to determine "impedance matching" with the output of my photomultiplier tube.

References:

**broken link removed**

My schematic

Figure 1: The output of the OpAmp on my oscilloscope
-- Top Trace: The signal output from the photomultiplier tube that I am trying to invert & amplify
-- Middle Trace: The expanded trace of the output from my OpAmp circuit - **Note the flat top... all large peaks seem to be clipped in similar fashion at ~300mv
-- Bottom Trace: The output from my OpAmp circuit

Any ideas?
Thanks!

Last edited:

Many informations are missing:
- any load resistor at the photomultiplier or open (current source) output?
- original PM signal waveform
- oscilloscope timebase setting
- oscilloscope connection: high impedance (1M/10M?) probe? coax cable? length? oscilloscope input impedance?