Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Interrupt line of the PCI bus from the bus

Status
Not open for further replies.

bizoo

Member level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Feeding the Interrupt line of the PCI bus from the motherboard to another device

HI all,
I am basically a software engineer who had a small circuit design issue and need some guidance.

I need to take the interrupt line of the PCI card from my motherboard and feed into a small FPGA which has a dedicated input connector.

I have measured the signal on the PCI interrupt and its active low and pulled up to 5V with pull up registers when no activity is on the line . The FPGA input signal requirement is 3.3 Volts.
Now from my limited knowledge of electronics, i can remember that for dividing the voltage i need a couple of resistors with the right ratio.

But the FPGA is an expensive one and i do not want to blow anything up. I am not sure about the role of pull up resistors and how the active low logic will affect my input to the FPGA.

Pretty trivial question for some but as i said, i am a software enginner and had my last interaction with hardware design some 6 years ago in University.
Any help will be appreciated!

cheers!

Weak Pull-up / Pull-down is pulling the signal High/Low to VDD/GND when there are no actual transitions are happening on that signal.

Weak PU/PD will make sure that any glitch on that signal will not drive the end device (FPGA in this case) to an incorrect logic.